- Mark's Daily Apple - http://www.marksdailyapple.com -

The Best of Mark’s Daily Apple 2010

Posted By Mark Sisson On December 22, 2010 @ 8:31 am In Health | 17 Comments

It’s been a year chock-full of notable developments here at MDA. Can you say first PrimalCon [7], first cookbook [8], first reader cookbook [9], and the Primal Blueprint Fitness eBook [10] (not to mention new Primal Nutrition products [11])? On top of it all, the MDA web community, is bigger, more active, and more involved than ever. I’d say we’ve pushed the envelope in all directions this year, eh?

At the close of this eventful year, I think a thoughtful “look back” is in order. (No sappy music or evocative stills, however.) 2010 was hands-down a year of mind-blowing recipes, kick start WOW workouts [12], record Primal Challenge giveaways [13], pensive creativity posts, tongue-in-cheek jests, scientific scrutiny – and plenty of healthy Primal debate along the way. It was the year of the massively popular forum and of the now celebrity figure Grok himself (emblazoned on t-shirts, tattoos [14], etc.). Finally, it was also – more than ever – the year of the reader success story [15]: men and women who took charge of their health with the PB and simultaneously confounded the medical establishment. The proof is in the pudding, as they say, and these readers’ tales tell it all.

Although it’s impossible to do full justice to 2010 in an abbreviated list, it’s nonetheless revealing, powerful and just plain fun to peruse many of the highlights – posts that reflect the year’s developments, that carved out new Primal territory, or that just got peoples’ comments flying. I’ve included something for everyone here – from the best eats to the toughest workouts, the most moving stories to the most meticulous medical commentaries. It’s a list of how-to’s, Definitive Guides [16], Dear Marks [17], reviews, and recommendations.

As I look back on 2010, I’m genuinely inspired by what the PB community has accomplished together, and I’m more motivated than ever to offer up my personal best to all of you at MDA. A toast! Raise your coffee cup, water bottle, or whatever else you have in hand. To a truly outstanding year and to all of you who helped make it so. Grok on!

On Succeeding with The Primal Blueprint

It’s a Journey, Not a Race [18]

Eat. Rejoice. Repeat. [19]

Dear Mark: The Low Carb Flu [20]

How to Use the Buddy Effect to Achieve Your Health Goals [21]

The Psychology of Giving Up Junk Food [22]

Inspirational Real-Life Accounts of Readers Gone Primal

Success Stories [23]

Social Issues

When Grok Lives with Korg, or How to Cope With an Unsupportive Partner [24]

Dear Mark: Raising Healthy Children [25]

Prodding Parents to Get Healthy [26]

Good Eats

The Perfect Primal Omelet [27]

The Perfect Pot of Primal Soup [28]

How to Cook the Perfect Steak [29]

More Recipes [30]

Tickle Your Funny Bone

An Open Letter to Taco Bell [31]

The Belly Whisperer [32]

9 Overlooked Stipulations in the Health Care Reform Bill [33]

Rejected Food Pyramids [34]

My Faves from This Year’s 30-Day Challenge

Top Grokfeast Challenge Videos [35]

Top Primal Blueprint Fitness Videos [36]

Top Primal Blueprint Recipe Videos [37]

The J.J. Experiment Results [38]

Best of How-to

How to Find a Cowpooling Source [39]

How-to Guide: Standing at Work [40]

How to Quit Grains [41]

How Air Pollution Impacts Your Health (and What to Do About It) [42]

Top Nutrition Articles

What About a Zero Carb Diet? [43]

The Definitive Guide to Sugar [44]

The Definitive Guide to Dairy [45]

The Lowdown on Lectins [46]

Is it Primal?

A Primal Primer: Whey Protein [47]

Can Fried Food Be Healthy? [48]

Can You Be an Endurance Athlete and Primal? [49]

How Bad is Rice, Really? [50]

Are Potatoes Primal? [51]

Weight Loss Tips

17 Reasons You’re Not Losing Weight [52]

Carb Refeeding and Weight Loss [53]

Debate Starters

To Circumcise or Not To Circumcise? [54]

Mirror, Mirror on the Wall [55]

P90X and CrossFit [56]

Fat, Fat, Fat

Dear Mark: Trans Fat [57]

The Definitive Guide to Oils [58]

Dear Mark: PUFAs [59]

On Cooking/Shopping

Cooking with Bones [60]

Choosing Chicken: A Primal Purchasing Guide [61]

Primal Blueprint Snack List [62]

Grok-related

Hunter-Gatherer Body Composition [63]

Just How Long Did Grok Live, Really? [64]

Just How Long Did Grok Live, Really? – Part 2 [65]

When Science Trumps Grok [66]

Chronic Cardio

8 Signs You Are Overtraining [67]

How to Deal with Overtraining [68]

Applying the Primal Blueprint Principles to Endurance Training [69]

Getting Quality Zzzzzs

How Light Affects Our Sleep [70]

The Definitive Guide to Sleep [71]

Circadian Rhythms: Zeitgebers, Entrainment, and Non-Photic Stimuli [72]

Sensible Vices and the 80/20

The 80/20 Principle: When 20 Inches Toward 40 [73]

The Cost of “Perfection” [74]

Stress Relief

Forest Bathing [75]

What Grok Can Teach Us About Leisure Time [76]

On Being Human

Primal Play: Dance [77]

The Power of Touch [78]

Music Therapy: Striking a Primal Chord [79]

The Power of the Human Mind

Dear Mark: Embodied Cognition [80]

Empowering Poses [81]

Primal Blueprint Fitness

Introducing Primal Blueprint Fitness [82]

How-To: Proper Pushup Technique [83]

How-To: Proper Pullup/Chinup Technique [84]

How-To: Proper Squat Technique [85]

How-To: Proper Plank Technique [86]

Workouts of the Week (WOWs) [12]

Odds and Ends

What I Mean by “Reprogram Your Genes” [87]

How Much Is Too Much? [88]

How Much is Too Much? – Round 2 [89]

Stuff That I Read (or Watch), And You Should Too [90]

Should You Trust Medical Studies? [91]


Article printed from Mark's Daily Apple: http://www.marksdailyapple.com

URL to article: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/the-best-of-marks-daily-apple-2010/

URLs in this post:

[1] Start Here: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/welcome-to-marks-daily-apple/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_start_here

[2] Primal Blueprint 101: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-101/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_pb_101

[3] free weekly newsletter: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/subscribe-to-blog/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_newsletter

[4] books: http://primalblueprint.com/categories/Store/Books-and-Media/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_books

[5] support options: http://primalblueprint.com/categories/Store/Services/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_services

[6] supplements: http://primalblueprint.com/categories/Store/Supplements/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_supplements

[7] PrimalCon: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/live-blogging-from-primalcon-2010/

[8] first cookbook: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0982207727?ie=UTF8&tag=marsdaiapp07-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=0982207727

[9] first reader cookbook: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/the-primal-blueprint-reader-created-cookbook/

[10] Primal Blueprint Fitness eBook: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-fitness/

[11] Primal Nutrition products: http://www.primalblueprint.com/category/Supplements

[12] WOW workouts: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-fitness/workout-of-the-week-archive/

[13] Primal Challenge giveaways: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/the-30-day-primal-blueprint-challenge-contest-page/

[14] emblazoned on t-shirts, tattoos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/14316944@N08/

[15] the reader success story: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/category/success-stories/?submit=view

[16] Definitive Guides: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/category/definitive-guide/?submit=view

[17] Dear Marks: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/category/dear-mark/?submit=view

[18] It’s a Journey, Not a Race: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../its-a-journey-not-a-race/

[19] Eat. Rejoice. Repeat.: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../eat-rejoice-repeat/

[20] Dear Mark: The Low Carb Flu: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../low-carb-flu/

[21] How to Use the Buddy Effect to Achieve Your Health Goals: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../how-to-use-the-buddy-effect-to-achieve-your-health-goals/

[22] The Psychology of Giving Up Junk Food: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../how-to-stop-eating-junk-food/

[23] Success Stories: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../category/success-stories/?submit=view

[24] When Grok Lives with Korg, or How to Cope With an Unsupportive Partner: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../how-to-cope-with-an-unsupportive-partner/

[25] Dear Mark: Raising Healthy Children: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../dear-mark-raising-healthy-children/

[26] Prodding Parents to Get Healthy: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../prodding-parents-to-get-healthy/

[27] The Perfect Primal Omelet: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../the-perfect-primal-omelet/

[28] The Perfect Pot of Primal Soup: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../the-perfect-pot-of-primal-soup/

[29] How to Cook the Perfect Steak: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../how-to-cook-the-perfect-steak/

[30] More Recipes: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-recipes/

[31] An Open Letter to Taco Bell: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../an-open-letter-to-taco-bell/

[32] The Belly Whisperer: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../the-belly-whisperer/

[33] 9 Overlooked Stipulations in the Health Care Reform Bill: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../9-overlooked-stipulations-in-the-health-care-reform-bill/

[34] Rejected Food Pyramids: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/rejected-food-pyramids/

[35] Top Grokfeast Challenge Videos: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/contest-poll-the-2010-grokfeast-challenge/

[36] Top Primal Blueprint Fitness Videos: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/contest-poll-primal-blueprint-fitness-videos/

[37] Top Primal Blueprint Recipe Videos: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/contest-poll-primal-blueprint-recipe-videos-2/

[38] The J.J. Experiment Results: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/the-j-j-experiment-primal-leap-results/

[39] How to Find a Cowpooling Source: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../where-to-buy-grass-fed-beef/

[40] How-to Guide: Standing at Work: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../standing-at-work/

[41] How to Quit Grains: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../how-to-quit-grains/

[42] How Air Pollution Impacts Your Health (and What to Do About It): http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../air-pollution-health-solutions/

[43] What About a Zero Carb Diet?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../zero-carb-diet/

[44] The Definitive Guide to Sugar: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../the-definitive-guide-to-sugar/

[45] The Definitive Guide to Dairy: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../dairy-intolerance/

[46] The Lowdown on Lectins: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/lectins/

[47] A Primal Primer: Whey Protein: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../whey-isolate-concentrate-hydrolysate/

[48] Can Fried Food Be Healthy?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../can-fried-food-be-healthy/

[49] Can You Be an Endurance Athlete and Primal?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../jonas-colting/

[50] How Bad is Rice, Really?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../is-rice-unhealthy/

[51] Are Potatoes Primal? : http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../paleo-potatoes/

[52] 17 Reasons You’re Not Losing Weight: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../17-reasons-youre-not-losing-weight/

[53] Carb Refeeding and Weight Loss: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../carb-refeeding-and-weight-loss/

[54] To Circumcise or Not To Circumcise?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../is-circumcision-safe/

[55] Mirror, Mirror on the Wall: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../health-vanity/

[56] P90X and CrossFit: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../p90x-and-crossfit/

[57] Dear Mark: Trans Fat: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../why-are-trans-fats-bad/

[58] The Definitive Guide to Oils: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../healthy-oils/

[59] Dear Mark: PUFAs: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../polyunsaturated-fat/

[60] Cooking with Bones: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../cooking-with-bones/

[61] Choosing Chicken: A Primal Purchasing Guide: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../chicken-labels/

[62] Primal Blueprint Snack List: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../primal-blueprint-snacks/

[63] Hunter-Gatherer Body Composition : http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../hunter-gatherer-body-composition/

[64] Just How Long Did Grok Live, Really? : http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../bone-dating-life-span/

[65] Just How Long Did Grok Live, Really? – Part 2: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../life-expectancy-hunter-gatherer/

[66] When Science Trumps Grok: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../when-science-trumps-grok/

[67] 8 Signs You Are Overtraining: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../overtraining/

[68] How to Deal with Overtraining: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../how-to-deal-with-overtraining/

[69] Applying the Primal Blueprint Principles to Endurance Training: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../primal-blueprint-endurance-training/

[70] How Light Affects Our Sleep: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../how-light-affects-our-sleep/

[71] The Definitive Guide to Sleep: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../the-definitive-guide-to-sleep/

[72] Circadian Rhythms: Zeitgebers, Entrainment, and Non-Photic Stimuli : http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../circadian-rhythms-zeitgebers-entrainment-and-non-photic-stimuli/

[73] The 80/20 Principle: When 20 Inches Toward 40: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../the-80-20-principle-when-20-inches-toward-40/

[74] The Cost of “Perfection”: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/simplified-fitness/

[75] Forest Bathing: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../forest-bathing/

[76] What Grok Can Teach Us About Leisure Time: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../hunter-gatherer-leisure-time/

[77] Primal Play: Dance: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../to-dance-is-human/

[78] The Power of Touch: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../the-power-of-touch/

[79] Music Therapy: Striking a Primal Chord: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../music-health-benefits/

[80] Dear Mark: Embodied Cognition: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../embodied-cognition/

[81] Empowering Poses: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../empowering-poses/

[82] Introducing Primal Blueprint Fitness: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../introducing-primal-blueprint-fitness/

[83] How-To: Proper Pushup Technique : http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../how-to-proper-pushup-technique/

[84] How-To: Proper Pullup/Chinup Technique : http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../how-to-proper-pullup-chinup-technique/

[85] How-To: Proper Squat Technique : http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../how-to-proper-squat-technique/

[86] How-To: Proper Plank Technique : http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../how-to-proper-plank-technique/

[87] What I Mean by “Reprogram Your Genes”: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../epigenetics/

[88] How Much Is Too Much?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../how-much-is-too-much/

[89] How Much is Too Much? – Round 2: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../how-much-is-too-much-round-2/

[90] Stuff That I Read (or Watch), And You Should Too : http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../stuff-that-i-read-or-watch-and-you-should-too/

[91] Should You Trust Medical Studies?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../should-you-trust-medical-studies/

[92] Find Out How>>: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/get-help/?utm_source=mda&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_footer_get_help

Copyright © 2009 Mark's Daily Apple. All rights reserved.