- Mark's Daily Apple - http://www.marksdailyapple.com -

Out With the Old

Posted By Mark Sisson On September 8, 2010 @ 11:58 am In Health,How To | 35 Comments

Over the next 29 days I’ll be bringing you tips, advice and guidance to help you get through each of the 14 mini-challenges [7]. With well over 2,000 articles on Mark’s Daily Apple, I’ve written extensively about all things related to the Primal lifestyle; from solutions to common stumbling blocks, to simple hacks that produce big results with minimal effort. As such, many of the articles during this month will feature the best that MDA has to offer. Even if you’re a regular MDA reader these challenge articles will prove useful. Not only is it good to periodically revisit the fundamentals I’m sure there will be some articles buried deep in the archives that you’ve missed. And for all Primal Leapers [8], use this and future challenge articles to complement the Primal Leap Guidebook [8] material.

In the world of Primal eating there is no place for Jamba Juice, granola, whole wheat pasta or even daily fruit juice [9]. Yes, I know this may be mind-boggling, but it’s true that many of the things that Conventional Wisdom [10] knows to be healthy are far, far from it. To accomplish this challenge you need to know what to ditch from your diet and why. Read the following articles for an overview and then begin taking steps to remove all of this stuff from your life.

Avoiding Poisonous Things

The Definitive Guide to Grains [11]

Why Grains Are Unhealthy [12]

The Definitive Guide to Sugar [13]

Oils: The Good and the Bad [14]

Are Beans Primal? [15]

Top 10 Fast Foods in Disguise [16]

Top 10 Junk Foods in Disguise [17]

Okay, so maybe you’re still a little skeptical. That’s completely understandable. After all, you’ve been told your whole life that fat is evil and grains are nourishing. But what the heck? You’re willing to give this a shot, even if it’s just for 30 days, to see what the hullabaloo is all about. So where to do you start?

10 Steps to “Primalize” Your Pantry [18]

How to Quit Grains [19]

The Many Uses of Junk Food [20]

FAQs

For Challenge #2 success you need to be prepared for what lies ahead. Here are some FAQs along with articles that detail my answers and solutions.

I’ve been eating this way all my life. How will I ever change my ways?

How to Guide: Making the Switch to Primal Living in 6 Easy Steps [21]

10 Baby Steps to Help You Get Primal [22]

How to Break Bad Habits [23]

How to Develop Good Habits [24]

This seems hard. I don’t have the time, money, know-how, etc.

Today, We Shoot Down Excuses [25]

Excuses, Excuses, Excuses [26]

What will I do without bread and pasta?

Primal Substitutes for Non-Primal Foods [27]

Pesto Spinach Bread [28]

Spaghetti Squash with Meat Sauce [29]

What will I do without chips and crackers as snacks?

Primal Blueprint Quick and Easy Snack List [30]

What about fiber? How am I going to poop without it?!

Fun with Fiber: The Real Scoop [31]

In Search of a Good Poop (or Sh*t Happens) [32]

Squatting vs. Sitting: Pooping Posture [33]

A Primal Primer: Prebiotics [34]

I’ve got a sweet tooth! What do I do?

How to Beat Sugar Cravings [35]

Why have my energy levels dropped?

The Low Carb Flu [36]

Low Energy Levels on (the 2008) Primal Challenge [37]

I’ve dropped 10 lbs in 1 week. Is this normal?

Water Retention and Weight Loss [38]

I’m the only one in my family going Primal. It’s not easy. Any tips?

Family Dinner Time: Tensions and Struggles [39]

You vs. The Mob [40]

Diet Change and Partner Dynamics [41]

How to Politely Pass on Dessert [42]

How to Tell Friends About the Primal Lifestyle [43]

Is it possible to dine out and be Primal?

The Primal Blueprint Guide to Dining Out [44]

Fruit’s high in sugar. What should I do?

Best Fruit Choices [45]

Can I still have coffee and tea?

Caffeine Talk [46]

To Tea or Not to Tea? [47]

The Dope on Energy Drinks [48]

Alcohol?

Alcohol Consumption and The Primal Blueprint [49]

The Definitive Guide to Alcohol on a Low Carb Diet [50]

Dairy?

The Definitive Guide to Dairy [51]

Coming up with meal ideas looks like it might prove challenging. Any ideas?

Primal Blueprint Recipes on Mark’s Daily Apple [52]

The Primal Blueprint Cookbook [53]

Check back tomorrow when I’ll be pointing you toward useful articles relating to Challenge #1: Eat Lots of Plants and Animals, and for a new contest. Grok on! [54]


Article printed from Mark's Daily Apple: http://www.marksdailyapple.com

URL to article: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/out-with-the-old/

URLs in this post:

[1] Start Here: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/welcome-to-marks-daily-apple/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_start_here

[2] Primal Blueprint 101: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-101/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_pb_101

[3] free weekly newsletter: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/subscribe-to-blog/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_newsletter

[4] books: http://primalblueprint.com/categories/Store/Books-and-Media/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_books

[5] support options: http://primalblueprint.com/categories/Store/Services/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_services

[6] supplements: http://primalblueprint.com/categories/Store/Supplements/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_supplements

[7] 14 mini-challenges: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/the-primal-blueprint-30-day-challenge-page/

[8] Primal Leapers: http://www.primalblueprint.com/pages/The-Primal-Leap.html

[9] juice: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/whats-wrong-with-juicing/

[10] Conventional Wisdom: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/the-definitive-guide-to-conventional-wisdom/

[11] The Definitive Guide to Grains: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/definitive-guide-grains/

[12] Why Grains Are Unhealthy: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/why-grains-are-unhealthy/

[13] The Definitive Guide to Sugar: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/the-definitive-guide-to-sugar/

[14] Oils: The Good and the Bad: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/healthy-oils/

[15] Are Beans Primal?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/beans-legumes-carbs/

[16] Top 10 Fast Foods in Disguise: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/top-ten-fast-foods-in-disguise/

[17] Top 10 Junk Foods in Disguise: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/organic-green-junk-food/

[18] 10 Steps to “Primalize” Your Pantry: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/clean-your-pantry-for-health/

[19] How to Quit Grains: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../how-to-quit-grains/

[20] The Many Uses of Junk Food: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/the-many-uses-of-junk-food/

[21] How to Guide: Making the Switch to Primal Living in 6 Easy Steps: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-living-transition-six-easy-steps/

[22] 10 Baby Steps to Help You Get Primal: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/10-baby-steps-to-help-you-get-primal/

[23] How to Break Bad Habits: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/how-to-break-bad-habits/

[24] How to Develop Good Habits: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/how-to-develop-good-habits/

[25] Today, We Shoot Down Excuses: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/health-fitness-excuses-rebuttals/

[26] Excuses, Excuses, Excuses: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/how-to-keep-new-years-resolutions/

[27] Primal Substitutes for Non-Primal Foods: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/low-carb-substitute/

[28] Pesto Spinach Bread: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/spinach-bread/

[29] Spaghetti Squash with Meat Sauce: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/how-to-make-the-ultimate-homemade-tomato-sauce/

[30] Primal Blueprint Quick and Easy Snack List: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-snacks/

[31] Fun with Fiber: The Real Scoop: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/fiber/

[32] In Search of a Good Poop (or Sh*t Happens): http://www.marksdailyapple.com/poop-health/

[33] Squatting vs. Sitting: Pooping Posture: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../squat-poop/

[34] A Primal Primer: Prebiotics: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../prebiotics/

[35] How to Beat Sugar Cravings: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/sugar-cravings/

[36] The Low Carb Flu: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/low-carb-flu/

[37] Low Energy Levels on (the 2008) Primal Challenge: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/low-carb-energy-levels/

[38] Water Retention and Weight Loss: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/water-retention-weight-loss/

[39] Family Dinner Time: Tensions and Struggles: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/family-health/

[40] You vs. The Mob: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/mob-eating-mentality/

[41] Diet Change and Partner Dynamics: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/partner-eating-habits-influence/

[42] How to Politely Pass on Dessert: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/how-to-politely-pass-on-dessert/

[43] How to Tell Friends About the Primal Lifestyle: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/how-to-tell-friends-about-the-primal-lifestyle/

[44] The Primal Blueprint Guide to Dining Out: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/how-to-eat-healthy-dining-out/

[45] Best Fruit Choices: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/best-fruit-choices/

[46] Caffeine Talk: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/coffee-tea-caffeine-talk/

[47] To Tea or Not to Tea?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/to-tea-or-not-to-tea/

[48] The Dope on Energy Drinks: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/the-dope-on-energy-drinks/

[49] Alcohol Consumption and The Primal Blueprint: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/alcohol-consumption/

[50] The Definitive Guide to Alcohol on a Low Carb Diet: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/low-carb-alcohol/

[51] The Definitive Guide to Dairy: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/dairy-intolerance/

[52] Primal Blueprint Recipes on Mark’s Daily Apple: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-recipes/

[53] The Primal Blueprint Cookbook: http://www.primalblueprint.com/products/The-Primal-Blueprint-Cookbook.html

[54] Grok on!: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/what-does-it-mean-to-grok-on/

[55] Subscribe for Free Today: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/subscribe-to-blog/

Copyright © 2009 Mark's Daily Apple. All rights reserved.