- Mark's Daily Apple - http://www.marksdailyapple.com -

Primal Substitutes for Non-Primal Foods

Posted By Mark Sisson On August 21, 2009 @ 9:31 am In Recipes | 45 Comments

It’s perhaps the most commonly asked question, both here in the forums and around the Primal/paleo blogosphere: what about bread/rice/grains/mashed potatoes/fish-and-chips/sweets? That is, what Primal foods can I eat that will satisfy my nascent urges for conventional “comfort foods [7]”? In a perfect fat-adapted world, these urges would be non-existent. We would all be sated on nothing but meat, fat, vegetables, and a bit of fruit, and on a normal day I would stress the importance of desiring truly Primal foods rather than Primal approximations of high-carb, conventional fare.

Today isn’t a normal day, though. We’re in the middle of a particularly intensive Health Challenge [8], one that centers around making small (but doable) positive changes. For all our new members, finding alternate low-carb versions of the classic high-carb foods can be just the ticket to maintaining their personal health commitments under duress – and for that reason, I rounded up every low-carb food alternative source I could find. Strict PB pros and Primal stalwarts, forgive me, but I’m doing it for everyone’s collective good. Consider this my 80/20 moment. (wink)

Breads/Muffins/Cakes

Primal Spinach Bread [9]

Carrot Walnut Bread [10]

Coconut Flour Rolls [11] (Thanks, Tim!)

Medicine Woman’s Roots: Golden Flax Bread [12]

Gluten-Free Bread [13]

Focaccia-Style Flax Bread [14]

Oopsie Rolls [15] (Gluten-Free Buns)

Low-Carb Meatloaf [16] (Hey, it’s technically in loaf form. Thanks, Richard!)

Chips and Crackers

Primal Nut Crackers [17]

Grain Free Almond Crackers [18]

Primal Sweet Potato Chips [19]

Sweet Potato Chips with Cinnamon [20]

Pizza

Cauliflower Pizza Crust [21]

Son of Grok’s Famous Pizza Crust [22]

Eggplant Pizza [23] (scroll down a bit)

Paleo Pizza [24] (Thanks, Scott!)

Sunflower Seed Pizza Crust [25]

Zucchini Pizza Crust [26]

Rice

Cauliflower Rice Pilaf [27] (Thanks, maba!)

Cauliflower Fried Rice [28]

Cauliflower Pesto Rice [29] (Thanks, Elizabeth!)

Pasta

Summer Squash Noodles [30]

Spaghetti Squash and Meat Sauce [31]

Low-Carb “Lasagna” [32]

Noodleless Lasagna [33]

“Spaghetti” with Meat Sauce [34]

Eggplant Lasagna [35]

Mashed Potatoes

Broccoli-Carrot Mash [36]

Mashed Cauliflower (Steam, then into the food processor with salt, butter, and pepper – super easy)

Mashed Butternut Squash [37]

Dairy

Coconut milk (Smoothie [38])

Almond milk [39]

Flours

Almond Meal [40]

Coconut Flour [41]

Breaded Fried Stuff

Coconut Chicken Fingers with Spicy Fruit Chutney [42]

Coconut Encrusted Chicken Salad [43]

Almond and Parmesan Baked Tilapia [44]

Thickeners

Low-Carb Thickener [45]

Pancakes

Almond Pancakes [40]

Coconut Pancakes [46]

Rick’s Primal Pancakes [47]

Paleo Pancakes [48]

Low-Carb Almond Meal Pancakes [49]

New Almond Meal Pancake Variant [50]

Snacks

Primal Alternatives to Non-Primal Snacks [51]

Primal Energy Bar [52]

Make Your Own Jerky [53]

Make Your Own Dried Fruit [54]

Spicy Almonds [17]

SoG’s Primal Poppers [55]

SoG’s Dinosaur Droppings [56]

Desserts

Low-Carb Dessert Recipes [57] (Almond Macaroons, Fruit and Nut Crumble etc.)

Primal Pie Filling [58]

Flourless Pie Crust [17]

SoG’s Gorilla Cake [59]

Raw Walnut Cupcakes [60]

Dairy-Free Custard [61]

Whew. That should about do it. Thanks to everyone who graciously made their recipes available online, and thanks to the entire Primal community. We’re well over half way through the challenge – no more faltering! If you need it, consider this low-carb roundup an instant support system for those times of weakness. Oh, and let me know if I missed anything.

Grok on!


Article printed from Mark's Daily Apple: http://www.marksdailyapple.com

URL to article: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/low-carb-substitute/

URLs in this post:

[1] Start Here: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/welcome-to-marks-daily-apple/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_start_here

[2] Primal Blueprint 101: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-101/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_pb_101

[3] free weekly newsletter: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/subscribe-to-blog/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_newsletter

[4] books: http://primalblueprint.com/categories/Store/Books-and-Media/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_books

[5] support options: http://primalblueprint.com/categories/Store/Services/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_services

[6] supplements: http://primalblueprint.com/categories/Store/Supplements/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_supplements

[7] comfort foods: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-comfort-foods/

[8] Health Challenge: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-health-challenge/

[9] Primal Spinach Bread: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/spinach-bread/

[10] Carrot Walnut Bread: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/carrot-walnut-bread/

[11] Coconut Flour Rolls: https://home.timconrad.org/display/taci/Coconut+Flour+Rolls

[12] Golden Flax Bread: http://bearmedicineherbals.com/?p=394

[13] Gluten-Free Bread: http://www.elanaspantry.com/gluten-free-bread-20/

[14] Focaccia-Style Flax Bread: http://lowcarbdiets.about.com/od/breads/r/flaxbasicfoc.htm

[15] Oopsie Rolls: http://blog.yourlighterside.com/2009/05/gluten-free-low-carb-buns-aka-oopsie.html

[16] Low-Carb Meatloaf: http://freetheanimal.com/2009/01/lowcarb-meatloaf.html

[17] Primal Nut Crackers: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/top-10-ways-to-go-nuts/

[18] Grain Free Almond Crackers: http://cavemanfood.blogspot.com/2009/04/grain-free-almond-crackers.html

[19] Primal Sweet Potato Chips: http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=563176

[20] Sweet Potato Chips with Cinnamon: http://www.joyfulabode.com/blog/2008/10/06/sweet-potato-chips-with-cinnamon/

[21] Cauliflower Pizza Crust: http://freetheanimal.com/2009/05/cauliflower-crust-pizza.html

[22] Son of Grok’s Famous Pizza Crust: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/son-of-groks-primal-pizza-recipe/

[23] Eggplant Pizza: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/10-primal-meals-in-15-minutes-or-less/

[24] Paleo Pizza: http://www.cathletics.com/recipes/index.php?action=recipe&recipeID=9

[25] Sunflower Seed Pizza Crust : http://oreganicthrifty.blogspot.com/2009/02/sunflower-seed-pizza-crust-and-thrifty.html

[26] Zucchini Pizza Crust: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/showthread.php?1345-Zuchini-Pizza-Crust

[27] Cauliflower Rice Pilaf: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/showthread.php?1399-Cauliflower-quot-Rice-quot-Pilaf

[28] Cauliflower Fried Rice: http://freetheanimal.com/2009/03/steak-tips-masaman-curry-sauce.html

[29] Cauliflower Pesto Rice: http://cavemanfood.blogspot.com/2009/03/lamb-kabobs-with-paleo-mint-pesto.html

[30] Summer Squash Noodles: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/low-carb-pasta-substitute/

[31] Spaghetti Squash and Meat Sauce: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/fantastic-fall-recipes/

[32] Low-Carb “Lasagna”: http://gonepaleo.blogspot.com/2009/07/low-carb-lasagna.html

[33] Noodleless Lasagna: http://freetheanimal.com/2009/05/noodless-lasagna-recipe.html

[34] “Spaghetti” with Meat Sauce: http://k8paleo.blogspot.com/2009/07/spaghetti-wmeat-sauce.html

[35] Eggplant Lasagna: http://www.carbwire.com/2009/06/11/who-needs-pasta-for-lasagna-a-low-carb-eggplant-alternative-recipe

[36] Broccoli-Carrot Mash: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/turkey-meatballs-with-broccoli-carrot-mash/

[37] Mashed Butternut Squash: http://laurarebeccaskitchen.blogspot.com/2006/11/mashed-butternut-squash.html

[38] Smoothie: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/showthread.php?1505-Coconut-Milk-Fruit-Smoothie-YUM

[39] Almond milk: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Almond_milk

[40] Almond Meal: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/the-many-uses-of-almond-meal/

[41] Coconut Flour: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/coconut-flour/

[42] Coconut Chicken Fingers with Spicy Fruit Chutney : http://cavemanfood.blogspot.com/2009/07/coconut-chicken-fingers-with-spicy.html

[43] Coconut Encrusted Chicken Salad: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/coconut-encrusted-chicken-salad-recipe/

[44] Almond and Parmesan Baked Tilapia: http://kalynskitchen.blogspot.com/2005/09/almond-and-parmesan-baked-tilapia.html

[45] Low-Carb Thickener : http://www.marksdailyapple.com/low-carb-thickener/

[46] Coconut Pancakes : http://primalfusion.blogspot.com/2009/02/v-day-breakie-coconut-pancakes.html

[47] Rick’s Primal Pancakes: http://primalliving.blogspot.com/2009/04/ricks-primal-pancakes.html

[48] Paleo Pancakes: http://crossfitphoenix.typepad.com/nutrition/2009/05/paleo-pancakes.html

[49] Low-Carb Almond Meal Pancakes: http://lowcarbdudecom.blogspot.com/2008/01/recipe-low-carb-almond-meal-pancakes.html

[50] New Almond Meal Pancake Variant: http://dadrewrite.blogspot.com/2009/04/new-almond-meal-pancake-variant.html

[51] Primal Alternatives to Non-Primal Snacks : http://www.marksdailyapple.com/snack-solutions-primal-alternatives-for-non-primal-snacks/

[52] Primal Energy Bar: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-energy-bar-redux/

[53] Make Your Own Jerky: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/how-to-make-your-own-jerky/

[54] Make Your Own Dried Fruit: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/how-to-make-dried-fruit/

[55] SoG’s Primal Poppers: http://www.sonofgrok.com/2009/03/almost-primal-poppers/

[56] SoG’s Dinosaur Droppings : http://www.sonofgrok.com/2009/02/recipe-dinosaur-droppings-primal-fudge-balls/

[57] Low-Carb Dessert Recipes: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/dessert-recipes/

[58] Primal Pie Filling: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-pies-fill-er-up/

[59] SoG’s Gorilla Cake: http://www.sonofgrok.com/2009/03/recipe-and-a-binge-gorilla-cake/

[60] Raw Walnut Cupcakes: http://www.recipezaar.com/raw-chocolate-cupcakes-366415

[61] Dairy-Free Custard: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/dairy-free-custard/

[62] Primal Blueprint Meal Plan: http://www.primalblueprint.com/product/Primal_Blueprint_Meal_Plan/Services

Copyright © 2009 Mark's Daily Apple. All rights reserved.