- Mark's Daily Apple - http://www.marksdailyapple.com -

In With the New

Posted By Mark Sisson On September 9, 2010 @ 12:50 pm In Diet,Health,Nutrition | 26 Comments

So you’ve committed to Avoiding Poisonous Things for 30 days. You read the articles from yesterday’s post [7], cleaned out your pantry and fridge and are ready to get Primal [8]. Now what? After Out With the Old [7] comes in with the new, of course, so it’s time to do some shopping. I want you to fill your kitchen with food that Grok [9] would recognize. These are the foods that the human body is meant to consume. The foods that give us energy and vitality, that make us lean and support our immune systems for a long, healthy and happy life. In short and in full: meat (beef, pork, fowl, fish, etc.), eggs, vegetables, fruit, nuts, seeds, and healthy derivative fats/oils and butters (with herbs, spices, extracts, and supplements rounding things out).

When making the transition to Primal, giving up grains and minimizing sugar consumption is just part of the equation. The next challenge is to accept that fat is healthy and should make up a majority of your caloric intake. Of course, not all fats are created equal, so you need to choose wisely. Additionally, it’s not just the type and quality of your dietary fats you need to be concerned about. In The Primal Blueprint [10] and How to Forage in the Modern World [11] I emphasize the importance of choosing clean meats and eggs, and certain fruits, nuts and vegetables over others.

Just like yesterday I’d like to direct you to a slew of articles that I’ve written on these topics. But first, let’s remind ourselves that a big part of this challenge is about eating real food – plants and animals just like Grok.

The following represent the most popular MDA articles on each of these nourishing food groups. You’ll learn why these foods should make up the entirety of your eating plan, which fats, meats, nuts/seeds, vegetables and fruits are preferred, how to shop for these foods and how to do it all on a budget. Below you will also find my answers to FAQs. Do your homework and then get out there and eat some Primal grub!

Fat

The Definitive Guide to Fats [12]

The Definitive Guide to Oils [13]

The Definitive Guide to Saturated Fat [14]

A Primal Primer: Animal Fats [15]

Is All Butter Created Equal? [16]

Is All Olive Oil Created Equal? [17]

Smart Fuel: Palm Oil [18]

Trans Fat: Why It Should Be Avoided Like the Plague [19]

PUFAs: Vegetable Oil. Ick. [20]

Canola Oil Q&A [21]

Meat

Did Grok Really Eat That Much Meat? [22]

The Red Scare [23]

Choosing Chicken: A Primal Purchasing Guide [24]

The Problems with Conventionally Raised Beef [25]

What Cowpooling Is [26] and How to Find a Cowpooling Source [27]

Organ Meats: It’s Not So Offal [28]

Salmon: Factory Farm vs. Wild [29]

Better Fish Choices [30]

Raw Meat [31]

In Defense of Meat Eaters: The Evolutionary Angle [32]

Eggs

Smart Fuel: Eggs [33]

Egg Purchasing Guide [34]

Seasonality for the Birds [35]

How Much is Too Much? [36]

Vegetables

Top 10 Fall [37], Winter [38], Spring [39], Summer Vegetables [40]

Is Organic All It’s Cracked Up to Be? [41]

Why Do I Have to Eat Vegetables At All? [42]

A Visual Guide to Sea Vegetables [43]

The “Smart Fuel” Category [44] (contains many vegetable profiles)

Fruit

On the Problems of Cultivated Fruit [45]

Best Fruit Choices [46]

The Wonderful World of Coconut Products [47]

The Many Uses of Coconut Flour [48]

Nuts/Seeds

Nuts and Omega 6s [49]

A Quick Guide to Edible Seeds [50]

The Many Uses of Almond Meal [51]

Top 10 Ways to “Go Nuts” [52]

FAQs

What does your meal plan look like, Mark?

My Daily Diet [53]

A Primal Blueprint Sample Menu [54]

What My Wife Carrie Eats [55]

Should I be taking supplements?

Grok Didn’t Take Supplements So Why Should I? [56]

Vitamin D: Sun Exposure, Supplementation and Doses [57]

A Primal Primer: Prebiotics [58]

A Primal Primer: Whey Protein [59]

Protein Powders: How Do They Measure Up? [60]

What about fish oils?

The Definitive Guide to Fish Oils [61]

What about dairy?

The Definitive Guide to Dairy [62]

Is All Cheese Created Equal? [63]

What about bugs?

Insects: Not Just for Breakfast Anymore [64]

How can I go Primal without breaking the bank?

99 Ways to Save Money on Food [65]

Affording Organics [66]

How to Eat Healthy and Save Money [67]

How to Eat Healthy on a Budget [68]

Healthy Eating on a Budget [69]

How to Build a Square Foot Garden in 10 Easy Steps [70]

Everything But the Squeal [71]

Cheap Meat Options [72]

Cheap Meats: Thrift Cuts [73]

Tell me more about fat!

The Health Benefits of Coconut Oil [74]

How to Render Beef Tallow [75] and Bacon Fat [76]

Can Fried Food Be Healthy? [77]

Coconut Oil and Ghee: Together At Last [78]

WTF?… Where’s the Fat? [79]

Bone Marrow: Delicious, Nutritious and Underappreciated [80]

We’re two full days into the 30-Day Challenge. Let me know how things are going for you so far. Grok on! [81]


Article printed from Mark's Daily Apple: http://www.marksdailyapple.com

URL to article: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/in-with-the-new/

URLs in this post:

[1] Start Here: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/welcome-to-marks-daily-apple/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_start_here

[2] Primal Blueprint 101: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-101/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_pb_101

[3] free weekly newsletter: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/subscribe-to-blog/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_newsletter

[4] books: http://primalblueprint.com/categories/Store/Books-and-Media/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_books

[5] support options: http://primalblueprint.com/categories/Store/Services/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_services

[6] supplements: http://primalblueprint.com/categories/Store/Supplements/?utm_source=mda_wwsgd&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=mda_wwsgd_supplements

[7] yesterday’s post: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/out-with-the-old/

[8] get Primal: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/10-baby-steps-to-help-you-get-primal/

[9] Grok: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/about-2/who-is-grok/

[10] The Primal Blueprint: http://primalblueprint.com/products/The-Primal-Blueprint.html

[11] How to Forage in the Modern World: http://primalblueprint.com/pages/The-Primal-Leap.html

[12] The Definitive Guide to Fats: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/fats/

[13] The Definitive Guide to Oils: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/healthy-oils/

[14] The Definitive Guide to Saturated Fat: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/saturated-fat-healthy/

[15] A Primal Primer: Animal Fats: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/yet-another-primal-primer-animal-fats/

[16] Is All Butter Created Equal?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/grass-fed-butter/

[17] Is All Olive Oil Created Equal?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/is-all-olive-oil-created-equal/

[18] Smart Fuel: Palm Oil: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/palm-oil-nutrition/

[19] Trans Fat: Why It Should Be Avoided Like the Plague: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/why-are-trans-fats-bad/

[20] PUFAs: Vegetable Oil. Ick.: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/polyunsaturated-fat/

[21] Canola Oil Q&A: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/dear-mark-canola-oil/

[22] Did Grok Really Eat That Much Meat?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/did-grok-really-eat-that-much-meat/

[23] The Red Scare: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/red-meat-study/

[24] Choosing Chicken: A Primal Purchasing Guide: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../chicken-labels/

[25] The Problems with Conventionally Raised Beef: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/concentrated-animal-feeding-operations/

[26] What Cowpooling Is: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/cowpooling/

[27] How to Find a Cowpooling Source: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/where-to-buy-grass-fed-beef/

[28] Organ Meats: It’s Not So Offal: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/organ-meats/

[29] Salmon: Factory Farm vs. Wild: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/salmon-factory-farm-vs-wild/

[30] Better Fish Choices: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/better-fish-choices/

[31] Raw Meat: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/raw-meat/

[32] In Defense of Meat Eaters: The Evolutionary Angle: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/meat-eating-human-evolution/

[33] Smart Fuel: Eggs: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/eggs/

[34] Egg Purchasing Guide: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/egg-purchasing-guide/

[35] Seasonality for the Birds: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/seasonality-for-the-birds/

[36] How Much is Too Much?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/how-much-is-too-much-round-2/

[37] Fall: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/fall-vegetables/

[38] Winter: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/vegetables-winter/

[39] Spring: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/spring-vegetables/

[40] Summer Vegetables: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/top-10-summer-vegetables/

[41] Is Organic All It’s Cracked Up to Be?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/is-organic-all-it%E2%80%99s-cracked-up-to-be/

[42] Why Do I Have to Eat Vegetables At All?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/zero-carb-diet/

[43] A Visual Guide to Sea Vegetables: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/a-visual-guide-to-sea-vegetables/

[44] The “Smart Fuel” Category: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/category/smart-fuel/?submit=view

[45] On the Problems of Cultivated Fruit: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/on-the-problems-of-cultivated-fruit/

[46] Best Fruit Choices: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/best-fruit-choices/

[47] The Wonderful World of Coconut Products: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/the-wonderful-world-of-coconut-products/

[48] The Many Uses of Coconut Flour: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/coconut-flour/

[49] Nuts and Omega 6s: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/nuts-omega-6-fats/

[50] A Quick Guide to Edible Seeds: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/quick-guide-edible-seeds/

[51] The Many Uses of Almond Meal: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/the-many-uses-of-almond-meal/

[52] Top 10 Ways to “Go Nuts”: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/top-10-ways-to-go-nuts/

[53] My Daily Diet: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/fitday-results/

[54] A Primal Blueprint Sample Menu: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-sample-menu/

[55] What My Wife Carrie Eats: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/dear-carrie-reader-question-roundup/

[56] Grok Didn’t Take Supplements So Why Should I?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/definitive-guide-to-primal-supplementation/

[57] Vitamin D: Sun Exposure, Supplementation and Doses: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/vitamin-d-sun-exposure-supplementation-and-doses/

[58] A Primal Primer: Prebiotics: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/prebiotics/

[59] A Primal Primer: Whey Protein: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/whey-isolate-concentrate-hydrolysate/

[60] Protein Powders: How Do They Measure Up?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/whey-egg-white-casein-pea-hemp-rice-protein-powder-supplement/

[61] The Definitive Guide to Fish Oils: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/fish-oil-health-benefits/

[62] The Definitive Guide to Dairy: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../dairy-intolerance/

[63] Is All Cheese Created Equal?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/cheese-unhealthy/

[64] Insects: Not Just for Breakfast Anymore: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/edible-bugs/

[65] 99 Ways to Save Money on Food: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/99-ways-to-save-money-on-food/

[66] Affording Organics: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../affording-organics-high-food-cost/

[67] How to Eat Healthy and Save Money: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../how-to-eat-healthy-save-money/

[68] How to Eat Healthy on a Budget: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../healthy-budget/

[69] Healthy Eating on a Budget: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../eat-healthy-food-on-a-budget/

[70] How to Build a Square Foot Garden in 10 Easy Steps: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/how-to-build-your-own-square-foot-garden-in-10-easy-steps/

[71] Everything But the Squeal: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/everything-but-the-squeal/

[72] Cheap Meat Options: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/grass-fed-meat-options/

[73] Cheap Meats: Thrift Cuts: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/cheap-meats-thrift-cuts/

[74] The Health Benefits of Coconut Oil: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/coconut-oil-health-benefits/

[75] How to Render Beef Tallow: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/how-to-render-beef-tallow/

[76] Bacon Fat: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/how-to-render-bacon-fat-plus-a-fennel-and-dill-omelet-recipe/

[77] Can Fried Food Be Healthy?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/can-fried-food-be-healthy/

[78] Coconut Oil and Ghee: Together At Last: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/coconut-oil-and-ghee/

[79] WTF?… Where’s the Fat?: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/strange-fat-free-food/

[80] Bone Marrow: Delicious, Nutritious and Underappreciated: http://www.marksdailyapple.com../../bone-marrow-recipe/

[81] Grok on!: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/what-does-it-mean-to-grok-on/

[82] Primal Blueprint Books: http://primalblueprint.com/categories/Store/Books-and-Media/?utm_source=mda_sidebar&utm_medium=banner&utm_campaign=sidebar_like_article_books

Copyright © 2009 Mark's Daily Apple. All rights reserved.