Thread: Skinny fat. Where do I begin? page

Katharina is offline Member

Skinny fat. Where do I begin?

Hi guys. Let me try to explain this as well as I can.

I am super skinnyfat. I have very little muscle and way too much fat. I have been sitting still on my butt for many years because I have a mental illness, so I havn't been able to go to school or work or do alot of stuff that normal people do.
    I am now at a point where I enjoy a weekly session of yoga, 2 times aquafitness and I'm just discovering the kettlebell and how fun it is. I am very weak, though. Other than that I don't move around much at all.

I have to say, I am currently not eating paleo. I was eating paleo for a short time a while back, but I had to stop because my IBS is crazy. The only thing that has been working to keep it under control, are very small meals through out the day, and alot of veggies and fat did just not seem to make it any better, even though I started paleo, in the hopes of bettering my IBS.
    Also paleo got too restricted for me, I started stressing - is this farmed salmon ok to eat? I can't eat caged eggs because everyone says I'll die from it? I can never ever look at gluten cause everything I've done so far will reverse itself? This forum got super confusing, to be honest. In the end I just had to stop.

So why am I even asking on this forum? Well you guys are awesome at this stuff, and I do truly still believe that paleo is the best way to go, and I would like to transit to paleo again at some point.

So to the real deal. I know I have to lift heavy and eat protein and keep up the exersise that I am currently doing. But... I am so confused. How many calories should I be eating? Should I focus on losing fat or gaining muscle? For the past 3 weeks I've been eating around 1200 calories per day and I have lost a little weight but not much. I'm guessing it's really difficult to lose weight when I have little muscle.