Thread: How to incorporate pre/post workout fasting with early morning training? page

chainblade84 is offline Junior Member

How to incorporate pre/post workout fasting with early morning training?

Ok so I've been a big fan of fasting. I followed the leangains approach and basically fasted through my sleep and the morning. I broke my fast at around lunch time. Then worked out around 4. Got home and had dinner. THis worked out nicely.

However, I got a new job and now I'm basically working 7 to 7 everyday so working out that late just doesn't work. I'm way too exhausted and I'd like to see my son before he goes to bed and see my wife before I go to bed. Another thing to throw into the mix is that i'm pretty much driving from site to site all day (I'm an IT Consultant). I haven't worked out much since this new job as I'm still trying to figure out how to do it. But I think I'm going to have to work out before hand at like 5:30 am. The issue with that is that usually one wants to eat after working out. But this would break my fast at like only 10 hours so it's not much of a fast. That and since I'm on the road for my job, I don't have time to go home and eat and I don't want to eat out obviously.

So what should I do? Could I get up, working out, and continue the fast until I get home at 7pm? Would this be healthy? would this destroy abilities for me to keep muscle? I could have a shake after my workout but then that breaks the benefits of the fast...I'm at a loss on what to do. Advise?

Ghshl is offline Senior Member
    Get up, workout and fast until lunch. Martin recommends talking BCAA if there's a gap between training and eating, but I don't think that's strictly necessary.

Sent from my GT-I9300

Quote Originally Posted by Ghshl View Post
    Get up, workout and fast until lunch. Martin recommends talking BCAA if there's a gap between training and eating, but I don't think that's strictly necessary.

Sent from my GT-I9300