Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Egg Dilemma page

Olives000 is offline Junior Member

Egg Dilemma

Shop Now
    I am currently buying omega-3 eggs from my grocery store, but I recently discovered a local farmer who sells eggs. He lets them roam the farm but feeds them grain . Should I switch to the farmer's eggs or continue buying from the grocery store?

ekba09 is online now Member
    If you can get farm eggs, you should do it. I am not an expert, but I think all egg hens get some grain feed.

eats.meats.west is offline Senior Member
    From my local egg producers:

We get many questions that range from do you feed them soy, corn, wheat, etc....The answer is yes. Chickens can not live on bugs and greens alone, they must also get there minerals, vitamins and protein through specially formulated laying feed. The energy it takes for a chicken to lay 4-5 eggs a week is tremendous and they need a well balanced diet to do so. Please remember most current egg laying chickens are not wild animals, they rely on humans for safety and food. (however, I will admit I do have 1 or 2 birds that do choose to roost in trees and do choose to survive with minimal assistance).

A typical bird in the wild does not lay 4-5 eggs a week. A bird in the wild lays maybe a dozen eggs in the spring and hatches them. Majority of chickens are breed for egg consumption, which is around 250+ eggs a year, that requires tremendous amounts of food and a balanced diet. Each chicken eats 1/4lb or more a day, more in winter.

If you want an egg from a hen that does not eat soy, corn or wheat, we recommend you raise chickens on special diets that meet your needs. Not only is it fun and exciting, but you have ultimate control of what goes in your body. We are after all what we eat.