Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Grain Free Cats page

sanepsycho is offline Senior Member

Grain Free Cats

Shop Now
    I have been feeding my cats a grain-free dry cat food for several years now. About a week ago I needed more cat food and didn't feel like making a special trip to the only store near me that carries the food so I bought the big box store brand dry food to make do. Wow, the litter box overfloweth! All those grains are making them crap like crazy! Lesson learned - make special trip, pay more $$$ for food and less for cat litter!

namelesswonder is offline Moderator
    I do a mix of raw food & canned food for my cat. She puts on weight easily so dry doesn't really work well for her, even if it's grain-free. Whole Foods sells frozen partially-ground chicken necks & backs so that's what I mix for her with the wet food. She'll eat just the raw meat too, but I worry she isn't getting enough nutrients that way. When I cook whole chickens, I feed her the offal
    Journal on depression/anxiety
    Currently trying to figure out WTF to eat (for IBS-C).

seaweed is offline Senior Member
    my cat hunts so she gets whole rabbits and she also gets some of the dog's food. not a grain in sight. dog gets everything raw. chicken frames, mutton bones, chicken legs, chicken necks, a liver or so a week, several hearts a week, the odd kidney, green tripe, venison offcuts etc. he did get some of the kids GF pizza the other day and OMG never again. I have to lock him away when they eat it as he sits by the table dribbling. he may like the pizza but the pizza doesn't like him!

earthlymumma is offline Senior Member
    Try to feed as much wet moist food as you can. Dry food is so unnatural for cats. They should get all of their water from food. When I switched from dried food to a RAW (paleo) homemade diet for my cats , they hardly drink water now. They pee a lot more too. And poo SO MUCH LESS. LOL.