Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: getting the balance right page

jacobsen001 is offline Member

getting the balance right

Primal Fuel
    Hi
    I am new to Paleo and I was wondering whether someone could help me. I have been doing the 'diet' for a week now and I am having problems.
    I have known about the rules of this way of eating for some time but was resistant to trying it as I have not eaten meat for years. However my diet has still been very healthy on the whole and quite low carb. I rarely ate bread, or wheat or rice. My diet tended to be intermittent fasting until 12. Then I would have a protein shake, or avocado and salad and some nuts. In the afternoon I would maybe eat a piece of cheese (unpasturised), or some hummus, snack on a packet of cherry tomatoes or a tin of salmon. Dinner would be a stir fry with prawns or a salad with fish. If I was in a restaurant I would have fish and vegetables and only then some bread and butter. My sleep was excellent 10.30-7 with no waking despite being nearly 50 and entering the menopause. No periods for 3-4 months at a time and rarely a hot flush. Masses of energy on waking for the whole morning. My blood sugar is fine and I can easily go 5 hours without needing to eat and I never get a drowsy or foggy head (I do know what that is like because when I was in my 20's at uni I was very unwell with all the junk food and had a very foggy head and exhaustion and IBS until I did an elimination diet and made a massive lifestyle change) I don't drink coffee but drink alcohol once or twice a week. I walk my dog and hour and a half every day and do a weights class at the gym 3 times a week and sometimes some cardio as well. I used to run but running raised my cortisol dramatically and wiped me out, damaged my hips so I had to stop.