Thread: **DUMB QUESTION -- Aren't eggs considered dairy? page

Angieh is offline Senior Member

**DUMB QUESTION -- Aren't eggs considered dairy?

Hi all,

I currently eat a little butter - 1-2x per week, eat greek yogurt occasionally, and eat organic cheeses occasionally. I have never been a huge milk lover, and I've been drinking almond milk for about 3 years (when I have milk). I think I could cut all of these out - at least for a while - to see whether dairy is having any kind of adverse effect on me.

But, I eat a ton of eggs - at least 4 days a week.

I have always thought eggs where considered dairy, so I've never thought I could go dairy-free, yet I'm seeing a lot of people on the forum say they don't consume dairy, and then they list off eggs as one of their staple foods.

Can someone please clear this up for me - exactly which items are considered dairy? Are eggs?

What is bad about eating eggs? About cheese? Butter?

Thank you!

canadianwoman is offline Senior Member
    Eggs are protein and fat. They are just sold in the *dairy* sections of stores because that is where the refridgerators are. You can eat eggs, cheese and butter. Cheese and butter is considered dairy and I donot eat either because they stuff up my sinuses and cause me to break out with acne.

MikeEnRegalia is offline Senior Member
    Dairy means milk and everything derived from milk, so eggs are not part of it.

Dairy is mainly thought to be problematic because it contains lactose and casein. Butter and heavy cream only contain trace amounts of those, so many people who don't respond well to dairy can still eat butter and cream. Also, if you only have a problem with lactose you can still eat cheese, since most types don't contain lactose. Finally, there's also lactose free milk, which I use for protein shakes.

Stabby is offline Senior Member
    Dairy=From cows in my book. Eggs are not made from the milk of cows.