Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Messing with the idea to be a personal trainer.. page

cayla29s is offline Senior Member

Messing with the idea to be a personal trainer..

Hey guys,

So I have always been into fitness since my early 20s and I can say that it is here to stay for the rest of my life. I currently have a career that I spent 5 yrs post high school and I have been doing this for the last 9 years. I believe I am very good at my current profession but sometimes I just don't want to do it anymore. I don't know if just need to go to a different company and see if it sparks the plug so to speak once again or go to a different profession that I am already passionate about. Maybe even do both?

I'm in Canada so I have looked at a couple of places to get certified. Right now I'm just toying with the idea. Could personal training really lead to a career or is this already a saturated market?

If you are a personal trainer, could you give me your thoughts on this? Do you have another job as well?

Thanks

canio6 Guest
    Al Kavadlo did a series of articles on becoming a trainer. They are found here:

Becoming a Personal Trainer (Part One)

Becoming a Personal Trainer (Part Two)

They may give you a place to start.

eKatherine is offline Senior Member
    It's the kind of thing that if you do enough research you might be able to start out part time without quitting your day job.

noodletoy is online now Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by eKatherine View Post
    It's the kind of thing that if you do enough research you might be able to start out part time without quitting your day job.
    this. you need to build a solid clientele and that can take a long time.