Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Probiotics page

fyrespryte is offline Senior Member

Probiotics

Primal Fuel
    Probiotics confuse the heck out of me. When I've gone to the health food store, standing in front of the display...I never know which ones are good, not so good or way over priced. I can't figure out if they have to be coated to make it through the digestive system or not, or whether the ones that aren't refrigerated are any good or not.

I'm a student on a VERY slim budget. I was hoping to get some recommendations for a quality, and affordable, probiotic. I've been dealing with digestive problems for a while now, I know that my flora is out of whack so I need a good gone. Can anyone suggest a particular brand?

FairyRae is offline Senior Member
    Well, it's not cheap, but we've had noticable results w/ primal defense by garden of life. (And my son was taking another expensive one free of his allergens prior to primal defense which didn't seem to do anything compared to what I've seen w/ the primal defense.) We are still new to using it, but I do feel the difference when taking it.

Also, if supps are too expensive, a great source of probiotics is lacto-fermented foods, like kraut, kimchi, and pickles (properly made of course.) They are easy to make (my favorite method is this one--I don't use any starter though, just fyi, all I use are the veggies and water: http://bodyecology.com/cveggies.php ) You can also buy lactofermented veggies in many health food stores--a brand I like is Bubbies--their kosher dills are awesome (pickle making has always been a challenge for me so I just buy them.) Just fyi, only their kosher dills and their kraut is unpasturized and has the good buggies.

Good luck! HTH!