Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What do you eat when you're sick? page

Spheni is offline Member

What do you eat when you're sick?

Hey all,

I'm relatively new to Primal and I was curious what is your go to when you're sick? Back in the SAD days I'd do rice, rice and more rice. I'm fighting a bug and this is the first time since going Primal that I can't stomach meat (almost threw up on my usual breakfast but I got it down anyway), or really much of anything for that matter. I did manage some nuts, fruit and dairy.

If you are sick and your appetite is gone do you just skip eating anything?

Thanks for the info!

picklepete is offline Senior Member
    Fasting can work, but running low on electrolytes and vitC will add to the stress so I'd do some bone stock with vegetables and salt. A full day without protein is bad too so maybe some eggs, yogurt, or ricotta.
    35//6'3"/180

My peculiar nutrition glossary and shopping list

gergirl Guest
    depends on what i suffer from...
    If my stomach isn't fine, COOKED oats do well, toasted bread. Everything light to digest, nothing sour (meat is sour for the body). Otherwise I eat everything my appetite and body tell me to, because I think the they know what is needed to fight against the disease.

RittenRemedy is offline Senior Member
    Brothy soup; I usually do chicken because it's easy but any meat would probably do. The lots of good broth and well cooked, easy to digest bits.

jasperb is online now Member
    Not relevant perhaps, but I find that green tea helps with nausea.

canio6 Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by RittenRemedy View Post
    Brothy soup; I usually do chicken because it's easy but any meat would probably do. The lots of good broth and well cooked, easy to digest bits.
    ^This.

turquoisepassion is offline Senior Member

What do you eat when you're sick?

Rice is just fine. Starches are easy on your body and gives it fast energy to recover.