Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Protein page

sbhikes is offline Senior Member

Protein

Primal Fuel
    I have been trying very hard to consume a lot of protein as recommended for strength training. It's recommended that someone female, short and weak like me get somewhere between 148 and 229 g of protein depending on my goals. Wow, that is a lot. The lower end is for recomposition, the higher end for building muscle.

Making every effort possible, I cannot seem to attain 200g, but I can get around 150 with concerted effort. Yesterday for example I had 1 chicken breast, 7.5oz salmon, 1/2lb ground antelope and 1 scoop of protein powder. That plus the other assorted things I ate amounted to 161g of protein. I have been eating this way now for a few months.

I have to report that I feel great. I mean really fantastic. I feel alert, my energy levels are even and strong, I feel confident and happy, I have this sense inside that I need not cower from expressing my opinions directly to someone's face eye-to-eye (which is odd for me). I went hiking on Sunday and felt strong and fast.

Carb levels are totally inconsequential to me. I had only 60g of carbs on Sunday but I did a strenuous hike and then did my volume lifting day the following morning without feeling any fatigue. After lifting I got about 110g of carbs and feel no different from the day before. I feel I could run 5 miles or run up the nearest parking garage stairs and it wouldn't make any difference whether I had a lot of carbs or very little. That's how even my energy feels. I have metabolic flexibility and can tap into the energy stores I have, all of them.

Anyway, I just wanted to report this because in all the discussions around here, the role of protein gets lost. It appears from my own personal experience that putting all my attention on protein lets the other macros just fall in place and gives me the best health.
    Female, 5'3", 49, Starting weight: 163lbs. Current weight: 135 (more or less).