Thread: Dairy-free, low carb meal ideas? page

jenniferbarclay is offline Junior Member

Dairy-free, low carb meal ideas?

Primal Fuel
    I'm fairly new to the primal thing, but I've been reading MDA for months and have educated myself about the ins and outs of a successful primal lifestyle. I am super motivated and excited to get healthy!

I was a vegetarian for two years, but I understand that to be paleo/primal that wouldn't really work. I had my first piece of meat last week (wild salmon) and I bought organic turkey breast yesterday. I am very allergic to dairy, so unfortunately I can't even do high-quality dairy or grassfed butter. I eat 1-2 organic eggs a day. I get most of my healthy fats through coconut oil, avocados, nuts/nut butters, chia seeds, etc.

My diet is fairly healthy, but from what I've been told on here and from my own judgment I really think I get way too many carbs and not enough variety. Some of my carb staples are sprouted grain Ezekiel bread, jasmine rice, sweet potatoes, bananas, Larabars, chickpeas, lentils, etc. I just can't seem to figure out what to eat without them!

For someone new to this (and on a budget), what dairy-free, low carb, and high protein + fat meals could you guys recommend? Recipes would be great, as would just breakfast/lunch/dinner/snack options. Thank you so much!
    Last edited by jenniferbarclay; 10-27-2013 at 04:45 PM.

turquoisepassion is offline Senior Member

Dairy-free, low carb meal ideas?

No reason to not eat more than 1-2 eggs. I have eaten 12 in a day before.

Avocados, potatoes/sweet potatoes instead of the bread/grains, more coconut in general... Maybe add in red meat & offal if you're open minded.

Low carb budget friendly day:
    -huge frittata with 4-6 eggs, veggies, bacon, etc. Topped with guacamole or salsa or avocado if you want.
    -coffee with coconut milk
    -lunch with a salad (salmon/chicken/ground beef as protein)
    -dinner with steamed potato/sweet potato & choice of meat