Thread: How "primal" does this salmon sound? page

jenniferbarclay is offline Junior Member

How "primal" does this salmon sound?

Shop Now
    Hey guys! :) I'm fairly new to the primal/paleo community. I've been a vegetarian for two years and my body is screaming out at me that I need a change. At first, cutting out meat from my diet made me feel awesome, but since then it's seemed to go downhill. I suffer from severe acne, constipation, depression, and anxiety, and I really feel the need to do something different. My diet relies too heavily on nuts & seeds for protein (my omega 6 ratio is probably through the roof) and I don't get nearly enough variety. My body is telling me that I need to start eating more lean protein, so I'm listening! :)

As you can imagine, it's pretty scary to start eating meat again (there's still that little voice in the back of my head telling me that the vegan/vegetarian diet is far superior), but I'm trying to be brave and do what's best for my body. Of course, I want to get the highest possible quality meat, but that's not always possible. With a tight budget and the closest health food store a good 45 minutes away, I don't really have the luxury of getting my grass-fed, pastured wishes. Since I would like to start out with fish (to ease my body into the idea of eating flesh again), I looked at my grocery store this morning and picked up the best option.

I went with plain old salmon! Something nice and easy to start. However, after looking at the packaging (it's frozen) and worrying about whether it's "natural" and "organic" enough to consume, I'm starting to have second thoughts. Can anyone take a look at the nutrition, ingredients, and what the product claims, and tell me if this is worth consuming or if I should just take it back and wait it out until I can get something better?

Brand: Ocean Eclipse

Product Name: Salmon

Claims made on package: Wild caught, all natural