Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Eating just for the sake of eating & the psychological hunger page

fcby9 is offline Member

Angry Eating just for the sake of eating & the psychological hunger

Primal Fuel
    Does anyone suffer from uncontrollably eating, even when you're clearly full and don't want more food? I'm a college student on a mandatory meal plan, and usually my meals are some variation of the following:

Breakfast: 3 HB eggs, some sausage/gluten-free meat, sometimes a bowl of sliced fruit and/or banana/apple; black coffee
    Lunch: 3-4 thin hamburger patties and chicken breast (littered with PUFAs and doused in canola oil), salad, sometimes fruit
    Dinner: same as lunch, some diced sweet potato/grilled veggie entree if it's available, sometimes scoop of ice cream and fruit

For the past few nights, I've come back after dinner and microwaved like 3 medium- to large-sized sweet potatoes, smothered them with butter, and ate them on top of my meals!

I've noticed I tend to do this when I've stressed (even when I don't realize it externally) or procrastinating. I try to distract myself, but sometimes I think that I simply can't keep food in my fridge anymore, even if it's "healthy" like sweet potatoes -- I just eat it all!

Is this due to lack of self-control? Am I not absorbing enough nutrients from the cafeteria food and therefore feeling like I need to stuff myself with additional (unnecessary) calories to compensate? I'd like to lose about 20-30 lbs.

Thanks much for the advice!

Paleo0731 is offline Senior Member
    Overeating is common when stressed out. Chewing your food slower and drinking water in between bites may help prevent overeating. Eating dense food also helps.
    Last edited by Paleo0731; 10-18-2013 at 08:39 PM.

jammies is offline Senior Member
    It may resolve on its own. It's common when eating this way for people to go through cycles with appetite - eating a lot for a few weeks and then dropping down for a bit.