Thread: Finding my way... the living journal of TaoTeTrav page

taotetrav is offline Junior Member

Finding my way... the living journal of TaoTeTrav

Everyone has something that works for them. Some like yoga. Some like Tai Chi. Some like pumping iron. I've see it on this site...everyone believes what works for them (dietary/workout) is THE thing that will work for everyone else.

I disagree with that. We are all unique and we should all celebrate this uniqueness. Part of the celebration of yourself is understanding yourself. On this site, I have seen this referred to as N = 1. This is performing an experiment on yourself, by yourself. How do you deal with the absence of this food item, or the addition of this movement.

This journal will be my public undertaking of my N = 1 experiment. I am a beginner in most things health and fitness related; but, as most, I have grown up with strong opinions on most things. Unfortunately, these opinions have come without any personal research in the physical realm. Oh, that makes sense so it must be true. This, I now believe, has been my biggest failure in my own health and fitness.

So, I aim to change this.

Tao Te Trav is kind of a misnomer, especially for you truly familiar with Taoism and the Tao Te Ching. I am calling my journey the "Way of Trav" (Name is Travis). It is not an exact translation perhaps, but it is a clever pun and I stand by it .

I hope to make some good friends, and assume I'll make some enemies. After all, what is life without balance?

So, to get on with it... I'll see you on the flip side of health and fitness... on the side where I will be healthy and fit!

Cheers to the future!