Thread: Confused about the role of carbs, proteins, & fats page

Kj94 is offline Junior Member

Confused about the role of carbs, proteins, & fats

Primal Fuel
    I've been on and off with the paleo/primal thing for a while but recently have been encouraged to do it again because my boyfriend finally said he would do it with me. What I'm confused with is how everything all works together. I'm in nutrition for my major and I'm fairly new to it, but I've always been told that carbs are the main source of energy and that when your body utilizes fat for energy, it takes protein with it which makes me wonder. I know its worked for lots of people but can the diet alone make a difference or is it the combination of diet plus the workouts that help maintain muscle?

Drumroll is offline Senior Member
    It's both in my humble (and non-medical) opinion. Weightloss is 90% diet and 10% activity in my opinion.

Muscle maintenance is a bit more complex. You need protein to maintain or put on muscle, but I think that being in ketosis tends to spare your protein because logically, I believe the body knows what is more efficient.

"Ok, no carbs for energy, what to do? Burn 1 gram of muscle for 4.5 calories of energy, or burn 1 gram of body fat for 7.5 (burning body fat is less efficient than burning dietary fat) calories of energy?"

Well, 7.5 (from body fat) > 4.5 (from muscle burning). Body is going to say, "of course fat is more efficient, I'll eat that first!"

Yes, you need some glucose for a few body functions that can't use free fatty acids or ketones for energy. But this can easily come from dietary protein intake so that it doesn't have to burn the protein already contained in your muscle.

The only time you have a problem is if you're like this hyper-lean individual with absolutely no body fat on you for your body to burn.