Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New kind of eating....for an athlete too!? page

runnerXtreme Guest

Primal Fuel

Hi there! Wow I can’t believe I found this—complements of a great friend and inspiration from RunnersWorld online forums.

I am a passionate runner, but due to health issues that have built up over the past couple years, have just recently found I need to eat low carb and all natural. As of right now the only carbs I can get are those in fresh vegetables [maximal], fruit [whole only], and beans in limited portions.

While I am willing to make these changes for the healing I so desperately need, I hate feeling like I have to give up my athlete lifestyle and eating for that. I feel like an invalid instead of an athlete.

Plus, I am just getting into peak training for my fall marathon! How the heck am I supposed to maximize what I get out of my training without bread and cereal—or even rice and whole wheat for a while here?!

Hence, it is so great to see that this kind of eating CAN be that of an athlete…even a marathoner!

I hope I can learn from you guys and find my own success—for life, for my running dreams.

Diana Renata is offline Senior Member

I'm so glad you made it.

The folks here are really great, and you'll get some fantastic advice. Not a lot of runners on here, but a lot of people who love health and food.

Ohhh... I just noticed you're right on time for the Primal Challenge!

And another thing- lol. You might find this one especially helpful.

http://www.marksdailyapple.com/prima...e-compromises/

runnerXtreme Guest

What's that?

I'm pretty bad at this so far...I thought I was hardcore and already still have more than overdone my carbs with fruit and beans alone! And yet I'm craving a "real" sweet BAD :-/

You'll get the hang of it. I'd drop the beans and stick to just fruits and veggies. Don't worry if you aren't 100% perfect. None of us are.

runnermom Guest

RunnerX,