Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Child Abuse? page

leighlu is offline Member

Child Abuse?

Shop Now
    I am an Operating Room nurse and have been for almost 20 years. When I went to work this morning my first case of the day was a gallbladder removal. Not an unusual start to the day, except that my patient was 12 years old and weighed 230 pounds.

It was a nasty gallbladder, full of stones and the poor girl already has the start of fatty liver disease. When I gently suggested to her mom that she needed to help her daughter improve her diet and maybe should see someone to help her with that, she said, I kid you not, my entire family is big boned, she is not really that overweight.

Mom was overweight as well, but not as big as her daughter.

How do you help someone like this? I feel terrible for this poor girl. She is pretty much on the path to a life of pain and suffering.

Mr.Perfidy is offline Senior Member
    "Bone's don't jiggle." All you needed to say
    "Ah, those endless forests, and their horror-haunted gloom! For what eternities have I wandered through them, a timid, hunted creature, starting at the least sound, frightened of my own shadow, keyed-up, ever alert and vigilant, ready on the instant to dash away in mad flight for my life. For I was the prey of all manner of fierce life that dwelt in the forest, and it was in ecstasies of fear that I fled before the hunting monsters."

Jack london, "Before Adam"

Kochin is offline Senior Member
    Nothing compared to this: Morbidly obese two-year-old from Saudi Arabia youngest person to have gastric bypass surgery - Health News - Health & Families - The Independent
    How ON EARTH the child wasn't taken from the parents instead of being internally mutilated for life I don't even... oh, wait, Saudi law, nevermind.
    --