Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Maybe I'm not as primal as I thought I was page

Urban Forager is offline Senior Member

Maybe I'm not as primal as I thought I was

Primal Fuel
    Here's what led to the revelation:

Last spring we had 2 hogs butchered that hubby raised (not at our house). I had the butcher save everything which included the heads split in half. So today I decided to make bone broth with one. I unwrapped it and started getting a little squeamish, it barely fit into my stock pot. I had to decide did I want the eyeball facing up or the teeth? I chose the teeth, the snout is pressing on the glass lid. I'm not sure I can go through with this. I put it to cook on my parabolic solar cooker figuring that it would cook down some before I had to bring it in for the night, at which time the bones may be soft enough to smash the snout down so it's not pressing against the lid.

I was a chef for years, I have no problem cutting up meat, but I never worked with an animal head, seeing the teeth and eye is disquieting.
    Life is death. We all take turns. It's sacred to eat during our turn and be eaten when our turn is over. RichMahogany.

Mr.Perfidy is offline Senior Member
    Herbal Crunch seems to think that Primal is for sociopaths, so maybe you are right :/
    "Ah, those endless forests, and their horror-haunted gloom! For what eternities have I wandered through them, a timid, hunted creature, starting at the least sound, frightened of my own shadow, keyed-up, ever alert and vigilant, ready on the instant to dash away in mad flight for my life. For I was the prey of all manner of fierce life that dwelt in the forest, and it was in ecstasies of fear that I fled before the hunting monsters."

Jack london, "Before Adam"

Knifegill is offline Senior Member