Thread: Chicken broth from drumsticks? page

miniGrokette is offline Member

Chicken broth from drumsticks?

Primal Fuel
    I have a dozen organic Trader Joe's chicken drumsticks and was wondering if these would be okay to make a broth out of? I've never done it before.

oceangrl is offline Senior Member
    Not my favorite, but they will work. I would pull the legs out when the meat is tender and remove the meat for other uses and put the bones back in. For some reason, bone broth from legs doesn't become gelatinous like it does when I use chicken and turkey bones.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

kitoi is offline Senior Member
    Chicken heads and feet make the gelliest broth but legs will do in a pinch.

CaliforniaGirl is offline Senior Member
    It will totally work. I have done it before.

MIstressKiki is offline Senior Member
    Of course, although I would personally make paleo fried chicken from them and use a carcase for actual broth
    I don't ask that you like me - all I ask is that you respect my life experiences and i will do the same.

Aldergirl is offline Senior Member
    I've been eating a lot of drumsticks recently (covered in salt, pepper, and garlic powder and baked in the oven). After I eat the meat, I put the tendons and bones into a "Tupperware" container in the freezer. After fill up the container, I throw them in my pressure cooker to turn into bone broth. It makes some nice broth, and I get more bang out of my $1.99/pound Trader Joe organic drumsticks .

Quote Originally Posted by Aldergirl View Post
    I've been eating a lot of drumsticks recently (covered in salt, pepper, and garlic powder and baked in the oven). After I eat the meat, I put the tendons and bones into a "Tupperware" container in the freezer. After fill up the container, I throw them in my pressure cooker to turn into bone broth. It makes some nice broth, and I get more bang out of my $1.99/pound Trader Joe organic drumsticks .