Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Protein Shakes on PB page

spursberry is offline Member

Protein Shakes on PB

Primal Fuel
    Hi

New here! Day 1 of PB for me - although been researching it for a while

I've been recommended to take protein shakes due to the amount of intolerances I have and work that I do

I know PB have their own shake, but ignoring that for now... ;-)

I was advised to take Impact Whey Protein

Is this okay on the PB way of life?

If so, and we can't have milk (I think thats right, as I say, I'm new to it!) what's best to mix it with

Thanks in advance - and sorry if it's a daft questions

RichMahogany is online now Senior Member
    Milk is out if you want to do strict, Loren Cordain-style Paleo. Lots of us here do dairy. If you don't tolerate dairy well, it may make sense to cut it out, and the only way to know for "sure" is to do an elimination experiment, then add it back in.

I think the whey is the least problematic ingredient in most whey protein products. I use an unflavored, unsweetened version, to avoid artificial sweeteners, colors, and other general chemical junk that those things are often full of.

But it depends on your goals. Why do you need the whey? Are you having trouble getting enough protein from actual food? If so, I say go for it. Just pay attention to what else you're taking along with the whey, and know that some people have bad reactions to WPC and do better with WPI, but for others, both are pretty near equal, and WPC can be cheaper.

spursberry is offline Member
    Thank you Rich

Fast and informative!!

Yes I'm not getting enough protein from my food - partly because I'm restricted by what I can eat and buying and eating chicken/turkey all the time is not financially possible for me - or much on the variation front!

I work two jobs, day and night, 6 days a week, of which one of the jobs doesn't have a fridge so storing cooked meat - or milk etc - is out of the question