Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Sugar addiction page

EMonger is offline Member

Sugar addiction

Primal Fuel
    So here I sit, at a Dunkin Donuts, having eaten 4 donuts. I had been eating paleo for a few months with minimal deviation. But now I feel like the guy in the Eastwood movie Hang 'Em High, who, just before he was hanged, delivered a sermonette on temperance that began with, "When you take the devil into your mouth..."

Seems it all started a couple weeks ago because I was driving, tired, and needed some coffee, so I pull in for some, and, "Well, one doughnut won't hurt me." Except it made me crave the couple dozen I've had since then. Now I go to DD after work, having thought for the last several hours about donuts and coffee...

I wonder how much I've set back my weight loss efforts.

MarielleGO is offline Senior Member
    ooh you are much stronger than I am... I've been primal for a week now and already the sugar demon is harassing me. I'm not ready yet to give in. I promised myself to do this and I'm going to fight to the bone before I give in...
    I'm afraid that once I give in for one than I'll be lost again.

I can't believe there is somebody who doesn't have these cravings every once in a while.

Maybe it's an idea to find a recipe to make Paleo/Primal approved donuts. You can make does and use raw honey to sooth the sweet craving....

FlyingPig is offline Senior Member
    Hate to say this, and I'm not on the high carb Peat bandwagon, but you may want to try adding a few potatoes or some white rice every once in a while as it may help with the cravings. It all depends on where you are coming from, of course, but not everybody has to go super low carb, you know, and your body may well be needing a bit of glucose, so make sure it gets it from primal sources.

FrenchFry is online now Senior Member