Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Discipline page

ConnorBryant is offline Member

Discipline

Primal Fuel
    Hi guys!
    I'm a psychologist who's been primal, paleo and before that Spartan.
    (Not from the movie, the Spartan regime was a prophetic Australian health regime started by Anthony Bova 15 years ago, way before all the cool kids were doing it...anyone know of it?)

Anyway, I study food and mental health connections, as well as discipline.

Any thoughts, suggestions etc for my blog

learningthesteel.com

Let me know. Cheers!
    Connor

Owen is offline Senior Member
    Hi Connor,

Like your blog, some good ideas / angles. I've found most of the stuff on nutritional psychology comes from Australia, including a guy called Jurrian Pleissman, and also this

Hypoglycemic Health Association of Australia

I used to think that Hypoglycemia was a kind of hypochondriacs thing, but it turns out that this was me for 34 years - eating a lot of refined sugar and getting low blood sugar, with the depressions and body clock disruption. The questionnaire on this website really opened my eyes.

Obviously the primal/paleo community agree with this, but generally in the UK at least, medical treatment for depression pays no attention and I think its a massive issue - causing a lot of unhappiness.
    Last edited by Owen; 09-16-2013 at 01:37 AM.

Absolutely!
    I've never heard of him, but will check him out. The links between diet and mental health are slowly building...I've got a paper coming out about it later this year or early next year (depending when journal publisher's pull their finger out, haha).
    It's a notoriously difficult field to study though....
    Diet has so many confounding variables and inner workings of the mind research has so many confounding variables that in combination...can be a nightmare to get clear, unequivocal results on...