Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How do I make a non-primal listen, or atleast not judge me page

maba is offline Senior Member

Primal Fuel

*Warning: Long rant ahead*

Ok, so many of you already know about the debate my husband and I have. He's a physician/ researcher/ academic who flat out refuses to even listen to my side of the story. When I talk to him about GCBC, he says he doesn't care for "unpublished references" nor references that are not printed in "high-impact journals". He says, "It's just not worth my time." "I'm a SCIENTIST - maybe you can fool your friends with non-science background with all your talk, but this is my career, please don't waste your time or mine!" He doesn't even want to listen to my side of the story. "It's stupid to lose weight at the cost of getting athersclerosis" And I'm not even doing this for weight-loss (I'm about 10 lb above my ideal). It make's me mad and helpless.

I know many of you have been extremely supportive and going out of your way to send strong references along my way, just felt the need to rant here.

Agnieszka Guest

That wasn't too long of a rant at all. :-)

I have doctors and scientists in my close family and I'm in an Ph.D. program, so I empathize.

A couple of things come to mind:

1. The change in your health, mental and bodily, might be the best argument for your husband--and for you, too. It sounds as though trying to convince him by other means might be counterproductive for a while, if only from the standpoint of your well-being. The ability to relax is, after all, part of a healthy lifestyle.

My own strategy is changing my own eating and exercise habits and allowing my family to ask about the results, if and when they become visible. When they do, I'll point them to Taubes's book and this blog and signal that I'm not interested in changing their minds.