Thread: Sharol's primal pregnancy journal page

sharold is offline Junior Member

Sharol's primal pregnancy journal

Primal Fuel
    After a lot of thought and much sleeping over the issue, I've decided to start my journal here. My aim is to have a healthy pregnancy and be primal as much as I can.

I can go into details of how I found primal, how it has worked for me etc, but I know writing all that history will make me lose focus. I'm not really a writer. I want to log in my food here as often as I can, so I remain motivated and don't fall off the wagon. I've been checking this site and forums for 5 years now but never posted!

I'm 20 weeks pregnant and doing good. I've been eating quite well and my only indulgences have been a bit of white rice (Ok a lot) and some really good quality ice cream. I hope to keep the rice and rice based dishes as rare treats going forward. They make my blood sugar surge. I love my home testing gluco-meter and love playing with it. It's interesting to see how my body reacts to food.

I'm yet to do the glucose tolerance test for this pregnancy. I know drinking that stuff is going to make me fail as I had GD with my first. That was 5 years ago. It was always under control and never really an issue (I wasn't primal then, but thanks to GD had begun to eat clean)

I guess I can refuse the test as I'm already eating like I've been diagnosed with it. I'll just go with it and see how it goes. I want to see just in case I pass with my primal eating ways. I have a notebook with the values written and the food logged, mainly for my reference. Hopefully, with that I can refuse any nutritional class or meeting with a diet consultant in case my OB decides to send me.

So, here's what I ate today

B- 2 eggs fried in butter, some cubes of cheddar cheese, and some cooked radish. A mug of tea without sugar.