Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ideal Protein Diet to Primal. Help how do I transition???? page

DebbieRN is offline Junior Member

Ideal Protein Diet to Primal. Help how do I transition????

I am looking for suggestions on what will be the best transition to make from a "ketosis" causing weight loss program on to Primal?

There are 4 phases in the Ideal Protein regime and I initially thought I would phase off the diet to the maintenance phase, but the more I read the more I am unsure. Do I fast for a day or two, do I juice??? Help!!
    The biggest change from IP to Primal is that the "fat" is not considered. So I am concerned that ridding my diet of splenda, for naturally sweetened products will produce an increase in my weight.

I am 49, 5.3 and currently at 118lbs and have NO health issues.My Primal goal is to be healthier and increase my energy level. I am a full time nurse and have struggled with my weight ALL my life. Now that I have had it under control for the past two years give or take 10lbs, I want to stay here and focus on health and fitness.

Looking forward to any and all comments.

noodletoy is offline Senior Member
    i am your same age and 1.5 inches shorter.

i don't know what ideal protein is. for your transition, there is no need to fast (unless you want to) and juicing is not a good idea for anything.

do you want to stay low-carb? what are you eating now? when you say "naturally sweetened" are you eating any fruit now? a few servings of fruit should not spell doom for you. it's a nice treat with yogurt or real cream.

fat is indeed considered on primal, it's not a free-for-all. you need to use some common sense with regards to what you consume.