Page 1 of 37 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Primal diet - marketing machine page

lelion is offline Senior Member

Primal diet - marketing machine

I used to be a personal trainer, but chose a career in the software world. However, I have and always will maintain a high level of interest in fitness.

I was on vacation for the past few weeks so I dedicated alot of the time in doing research on the most effective way to stay fit/healthy from a food standpoint. I studied everything... Paleo, primal, ketonic, vegan, raw vegan, raw food, pescetarian, etc. I even found doctors touting a starch based diet.

Some of what Mark Sisson says makes sense, until I saw the meal replacement supplements. You can't say on one end that dairy is to be nearly eliminated, and then on the other end sell an overly priced whey protein supplement ($70 for a whey protein supplement? seriously?). Just this fact gave me the general overall impression that this whole thing is simply structured as a marketing machine to make money. The whey protein supplement made me question the validity of everything and lowered my view of Mark Sisson's intentions. I do think Mark Sisson is a brilliant salesperson. I got a little inspired by Mark until I saw the overpriced supplements, and for that reason alone I am writing this post... I almost bought into this whole thing.

The reason why this program works is because it's low carb. Plain and simple.

I also question some of the views on beans, legumes, lentils. Go talk to a vegan... They eat alot of legumes and some have similar claims to the folks on the paleo/primal bandwagon.. "cured a disease, cured arthritis, etc." These folks are eating tons of grains and legumes.

Go to India, and you'll find a ton legumes... Case in point, my ancestors are from India.... My grandmother lived close to her 90s... Her trick, going for a walk every day.