Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice for College Student with IBS? page

ErinS is offline Junior Member

Question Advice for College Student with IBS?

Primal Fuel
    I am currently a sophomore at the University of Florida. I have been suffering from IBS for years already, and I have been desperate to find a cure - anything to get rid of the gas, distention, irritability, acid reflux, etc. - and the second I read about the paleo/primal diet, I knew it would work.

This new way of eating has made me feel so much better; however, as restrictive as this diet is, I am even more limited in that I cannot eat red meat, dairy, nuts, fish, eggs, ANY seasonings, and several fruits and vegetables (onions, garlic, peppers, broccoli, cauliflower, celery, cucumbers, tomatoes, berries, bananas, citrus...the list goes on and on).

I can manage just fine as long as I cook for myself - basically everything is very simple and plain. I can't eat out at restaurants because no matter how safe I try to make my order, it always ends up messing up my digestive system.

As if college isn't difficult enough socially as it is, I now have to deal with the awkwardness of trying to explain to people why I can't go out for lunch with them, or have a piece of birthday cake, etc.
    And I don't even want to think about dating! I know if he's a good guy he'll be understanding, but it's still extremely uncomfortable to tell someone you barely know about your digestive issues...and then seeing his disbelief and disappointment in the fact that you can never eat out with him...you get the drift.

Another worry is studying abroad. I want to go to Spain or Italy but I won't be able to eat a thing there! This is clearly stressing me out, any advice?

Fury22 is offline Senior Member
    well what can you eat??
    Check out my blog!

http://easternstrength.blogspot.com/

I like to throw, squat and pull heavy things for fun.