Thread: Yes, another running question page

running_mum is offline Junior Member

Yes, another running question

Primal Fuel
    Hi Everyone

A bit of background: I started running last year in September, so I am a beginner runner. Went from struggling to run for 30 seconds to running 8kms (I am training for a 10k race). I know it is not impressive, but for me, this is a huge achievement.

I started PB 3 weeks ago but I only ran twice in the past three weeks. I have been reading a lot and got a bit confused to what ‘chronic cardio’ means, I run for about 50 minutes at the moment and I still find it takes a lot of willpower to finish my training. BUT in saying that, I feel like it’s something I have to do, because for the first time in my life I am achieving something I thought it was impossible. But the question is, is this classified as chronic cardio?

And also, eat carbs not eat carbs? Totally confused! I lift weights twice, maybe three times week too. I am not too worried about the exact number. I have been eating low carb generally but I have no idea of how many grams that is, if it is too low or too much?

Any feedback is much appreciated 

laurathegoth is offline Member
    I've only been running 2 years and I generally stick at 5k but have been known to do the odd 10k. I am only recently back following pb but last time I found that carbs from veg were more than enough, especially if eating sweet potatoes regularly. I wouldn't class it as chronic cardio personally at these distances (though I suppose some might disagree), try not to be going too hard though-general rule of thumb is to be able to hold a conversation. Oh and sprint occasionally between lamp-posts is good if you're a road runner (and in the uk possibly)

Huarache Gal is offline Senior Member