Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Greetings from a converted skeptic! page

Docjoe is offline Junior Member

Greetings from a converted skeptic!

Shop Now
    Hi everyone, have been lurking here for a while and decided to officially join in the fun!

I am 45 years old, married, father of 2. I am a physician by trade (oncologist) and I have for years been very skeptical about all of these "fad diets". My nutrition recommendations to my patients has been the standard mainstream medical advise - mostly fruits and vegetables, easy on the meat and fat, grains and starches are great, dairy is fine if it doesn't bother your stomach.

In my work, I both treat cancer patients but also direct a clinical research program. A discussion about the causes of cancer would be a whole other thread but the avalanche of data pointing at the tidal wave of cancer coming our way due to insulin resistance and obesity is too much to ignore. And it is also clear that the epidemic of bad health afflicting our nation is more than just too many calories in and too few calories out.

From a personal standpoint, I have always felt that I am pretty healthy. I've not struggled with obesity but have always wanted to drop that extra 10 or 15 pounds. I have been a fairly avid runner and do a couple of half marathons per year. My diet has been the typical Americanized diet - lots of grains, too much processed junk. And when it came right down to it, I just didn't feel very healthy. I went in for a check-up myself and my lipid profile was pretty crappy and my liver enzymes were a little high indicating probable hepatic steatosis.

One of my patients actually gave me a book about the paleo diet which I skimmed. I finally decided to dig into things a bit more and the more data I saw, the more impressed I was. I had always thought of this as a glorified Atkin's diet but I was clearly wrong about that.