Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need Help with Recipe page

Grok is offline Senior Member

Need Help with Recipe

I'm a total newb to cooking , and I thought I would try to start with something simple like the Mashed Parsnips recipe from Mark's cookbook.

So I have a couple of questions for this "simple" recipe:
    1. Is chicken broth the same thing as chicken stock?
    1a. I assume I don't want the fat free variety?
    1b. Any particular brand which is good, I picked up a Swansons
    2. Is "cream" the same as "heavy whipping cream"? (Because I went to the store and I could not find anything which just said "cream")
    2a. Do I want the ultra-pasteurized variety? I picked up an organic pasteurized heavy whipping cream in a bottle, hope I bought the right stuff.

Thanks in advance,
    -Grok

elorajade is offline Senior Member
    You want broth. Stock is basically flavored water. Broth has been simmered with bones and meat.

Ideally, you want to make your own. But, in a pinch, I usually buy organic broth, low sodium if I can get it. To reduce the salt content though, throw in half a potato and it will suck up the salt (then discard).

The difference between cream/heavy whipping cream is the amount of fat. Cream is anywhere from 13-18% and heavy cream is more like 35%

You will only find pasteurized in store. That means that its been heated to a certain temperature to kill all the potential germs (and unfortunately the good enzymes and other bacteria that are beneficial to us).

Okay, I didn't see anything that said "cream". I saw the heavy whipping cream, and some half/half, and milk. I looked in two different stores.

yaslind is offline Junior Member
    Heavy whipping cream is just fine.

I like low sodium Kitchen Basics for my chicken stock. I use it all the time instead of wine to deglaze pans and make quick sauces.

mayness is offline Senior Member