Thread: coconut flour page

ezzirah is offline Junior Member

coconut flour

Shop Now
    I am thinking of investing in a big bag of coconut flour and playing around with it. I am very new to paleo, so I don't know how it taste in recipes. Does it give everything a coconut flavor? If so, is it strong coconut flavor or does the taste "sit in the background"?

Thanks!

eKatherine is offline Senior Member
    The thing about coconut flour is that it isn't a substitute for any other sort of flour when you're looking to bake. You will have to use it in recipes that were developed for baking with it. I find most recipes that use mostly coconut flour use lots of eggs. I don't much care for that eggy taste and texture, and I try to avoid excess eggs anyway. So while I have it, it doesn't get used much in my household.

AuroraB is online now Senior Member
    You probably won't need a big bag of it either. It is a very thirsty flour and a little goes a long way. Check out some of the recipes at Tropical Traditions or Tiana and you'll get an idea of what I'm talking about. One or 2 pounds of coconut flour may last you quite a while. Some recipes only call for a couple tablespoons.

If I use it in cooked items, the taste is barely detected. If I use it in baked goods, you can taste it more but it's not an overpowering sweet or coconutty flavor to me. Although, if a person is not partial to coconut flavor, they will taste it and may not want to eat the item. Happens in my house all the time
    Some people just need a sympathetic pat... On the head... With a hammer.

Badkty22 is offline Senior Member