Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Intermittent fasting page

imp
    imp is offline Senior Member

Intermittent fasting

Primal Fuel
    How often should I do intermittent fasting?

When I drink black coffee am I breaking fasting?

How long is a fasting time?

Are there any books that goes into the science of fasting?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

CaliforniaGirl is offline Senior Member
    I have been doing IF for two months. I typically have my first meal at 11:00 and the second at 7:00. Mark has said it is fine to drink coffee and it won't break the fast but I don't do it because coffee doesn't agree with me. Supposedly there is this book called the 8 hour Diet which goes into more details but I haven't read it. There are other versions of IF. Some people restrict eating to a 4-6 hours and some people will fast all day long one or two days a week. If you go to mercola dot com and search for intermittent fasting, he has a lot of articles which are great and I am sure Mark does as well. I have definitely felt like my blood sugar has been more stable, I am not constantly thinking about food and don't get hungry at all in between meals. I just generally feel that eating all day long isn't healthy, for me at least. In the beginning, I was doing a very low carb ketogenic diet and I didn't feel well at all so I added some carbs back in, squash, berries and sweet potatoes and this has been working better. I would recommend trying IF.

Nion is offline Senior Member
    You need to tailor it to your own needs, there's no 'one size fits all' option for this.

For me, It comes naturally. I eat when i feel hungry. Sometimes this means i don't eat for 12-14 hrs.
    I'm a paleo foodie, come check out my recipes: http://strangekitty.ca/

noodletoy is online now Senior Member
    fasting isn't mandatory either.

fine-tune your diet and it should start happening naturally. forcing it may make you miserable.