Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Daily intake of natural sugar? page

KiteKasia is offline Senior Member

Question Daily intake of natural sugar?

Shop Now
    So I'm a total newbie to this website, forum and Primal/Paleo lifestyle, but I'm relatively fit and enjoying good healthy foods. Few weeks ago I cut the gluten out of my diet purely to see if my belly would feel and look better! :-) Then I have done some research on grain free diet and finally came across Primal and Paleo and it all have made lots of sense to me.
    But I have to be honest - all that fat intake (no matter how well explained) is scarring the life out of me! :-) It's just totally opposite to what I'm used to eat. Don't get me wrong - I'm all up for it, I understand my body will turn to burning fat for the energy, but I also understand I need to keep sugar intake very low for this to happen...
    Now, there is a problem - I have no idea what that low is. I don't want to get bigger and develop any additional fat tissue, if anything I want to get lean muscles and keep on getting fitter, so I'm seriously worrying about sugar intake as it's almost in everything I snack on! I don't do anything else but natural sugar, still the fruit is loaded with it and since I hear fructose is the worst enemy it looks like apples and pears are out due to high level of fructose.
    I really can't imagine giving up on fruit or eating it as a rare treat only. I can adjust my eating habits to accommodate less sugary fruit and fruit low in fructose, but that's a tough one too - mango seems to be very high in sugar so is banana but both are relatively low in fructose, lower than blueberries! My favourite group of fruit - mellons, are not recommended by Mark but I'm trying to figure out why as they don't look that bad on this website... Sugar Content of Fruit | Nutrition Information from Dr. Loren Cordain
    I'm totally lost and confused and would really appreciate some help and guidance.
    Thank you!