Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Alternative to Monster Energy Drinks page

ziok is offline Member

Alternative to Monster Energy Drinks

Shop Now
    Hello all!

This is my first forum post and although I have scoured information attempting to answer this question on my own I am left to this to get some other opinions.

As was stated in a few previous posts by Mark: Monster Energy Drink = Bad. Lack of sleep =Bad.

I am considering replacing Monster Energy Drink with Starbucks Via Iced Coffee. (the instant coffee packets)

A bit about my situation:

I work as a Paramedic for a busy 911 service. I am on shift 24 hours as a standard with some occurrences of 48 hour shifts where I may get a total of 2-3 hours of "horrible" sleep being kept awake by radio traffic from other units. Normally, my average is 3-4 hours with 1 night every 4 shifts where I get none at all.

My go to for years has been Monster (sometimes consuming 2-3 in around 8 hours) this, with a power bar of some kind, was my go-to for late night calls and lack of sleep.

Now I have mostly transitioned to Primal and I absolutely no longer eat wheat. (had a horrible reaction quite suddenly resulting in a Grok sprint towards this newer lifestyle ) As well as have eliminated most other SAD style foods. But Monster has remained and I will not be changing jobs anytime soon. I recently went through a rough week where Monster was my savior and kept me from wrecking the truck or stabbing myself with needle but I felt horrible from the amount of sugar I consumed and have searched for something not so bad for me but will still work for the purpose of keeping me awake!!

Any thoughts? Suggestions?

Rocco Hill is offline Senior Member
    Mexican Cola is far less evil

blondiegreen is offline Senior Member
    Kombucha?
    Can you make your own iced coffee?
    Needing some accountability, so here's my stats:
    34yrs old, 5'5"
    CW: 163lbs (07/2014)
    GW: 135lbs or less