Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Need Type 2 Diabetes Primal Help!

Need Type 2 Diabetes Primal Help!

Shop Now
    Hi All. I'm a newbie, & my Husband was just diagnosed w/ type 2 diabetes. I'm almost done reading The Primal Blueprint, & have run into possible advice conflict. If I understand it correctly, Mark's discussion of I.F. (intermittent fasting) seems to include diabetics. But, in Practical Paleo, Diane Sanfilippo says to avoid fasting or going longer than 4-5 hours w/out food until blood sugar is regulated (p.142). Please help on this point & Anything about starting Primal for diabetics. I know that the "Sweet Spot" is 50-100, but should we aim for lower than that, & use ketostix to be sure he is solidly in ketosis rather than @ the sweet spot's edge of ketosis? (Many years ago, my Husband went on a ketosis diet, & it was the only way he has ever been able to lose a significant amount of weight & also not be hungry). He is very motivated about going primal, & his job is so stressful/ long hours, that he is relying on me to provide the info on what to do (which I am happy to do). His #'s are all terrible, including very low HDL (~25), Small particulate HDL, & he wants to go from ~ 265 lbs. to ~ 185. He is on script niacin & a statin (so I give him 300 mg/day of ubiquinol, fish oil, & more vitamins/ supplements than most people would go along with). He loves to Mountain Bike, which doesn't happen often in our Texas Summer heat. The challenge for me is cooking primally with 2 older sons in the house who are sugarholics regardless of what I "preach" to them. (One has severe depression & is unemployed, the other has Asperger's syndrome. So, stress is high for my Husband & I even without the diabetes). I'm scared, & SO appreciate any & all help you have to offer! Thanks!!