Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Primal Journal ala hbeck page

hbeck is offline Senior Member

Primal Journal ala hbeck

Shop Now
    Heyo fellow Groks and Grokettes

Allow myself to introduce...myself.
    hbeck here, otherwise known as Darren. 25 years old these days I'm Texas born and bred, proud of it, and wouldn't want to live anywhere else. Currently residing on the outskirts of DFW. Married to a beautiful and brilliant woman and couldn't be happier with the choice! And now, on the way to being a parent

As for the Primal goodness, I discovered MDA through a link on my CrossFit affiliate's blog and have since been spending far too much time reading articles and the forums here...shh, don't tell my boss! I work on a computer for a living, and since getting out of college 3 years ago that's about all I've done physically, other than mowing the yard. I had one spurt of a month or so where I went to the fitness center in our community's clubhouse but got bored with treadmill and weight machines so back to being a lazy bum. Cue Feb 2010 - hit my highest weight ever, seriously disappointed and depressed about getting winded climbing stairs from being so out of shape, and sick of being lazy in general. Getting smoked in a 5k run by my 50-something father didn't help either.

Now, some history and perspective...I was not and have never been really overweight. I'm 6' tall and my high point (beginning of 2010) was 185 lbs. But, for me, that was an unhappy place coming from a guy who didn't break 160 until after graduating HS in 2003 and no longer having year-round sports to keep me in shape. Really my displeasure was more about not being fit/in-shape than any weight issue. So no, I'm not insane and I don't have body issues. I realize I'm not making the huge transitions some of you other PB'ers are, but it's a transition and I have my goals all the same.