Thread: Help with gout and type 2 diabeties page

Doggonne2000 is offline Junior Member

Help with gout and type 2 diabeties

Shop Now
    Hello. My name is Becky and I am 50 years old. About a year and a half ago my doctor turned me onto eating paleo because I wanted to feel better in my own skin. To date I have lost 55 pounds and my cholesterol has dropped by 50%. I feel great and now am out to change the world. My most recent converts are my aunt and uncle who are in their seventies and have many health issues including gout and type 2 diabeties. I've been working with them for about two months and they are truely embrasing the paleo/primal principles and for the most part are doing very well. Does anyone have recommendations on how I could help them be more paleo/primal? They are afraid of getting the fructose out of the house because sometimes their blood sugars drop suddenly and they need to get immediate sugars. Also, some of the sea food and meat promotes gout attacks because of the high purine content. I've done some research and know fructose also contributes to gout. If anyone has experience with this I would really appreciate input. Thanks. B

namelesswonder is online now Moderator
    Are they eating any starchy vegetables? Keeping their carbs above a certain level (you'd need to experiment to figure that out) may help with any blood sugar crashes. I would also look into what their breakfasts are like and when exactly (and after what kind of meal) the blood sugar crash occurs. There may be certain foods they are eating that should be avoided. High-fruit breakfasts are not a problem as long as they're coupled with some fat & protein, but generally, it's best to avoid a lot of sugar in the morning if you have blood sugar issues.
    Journal on depression/anxiety
    Currently trying to figure out WTF to eat (for IBS-C).

loafingcactus is offline Senior Member