Thread: A Craft Beer Lover's Primal Journal page

mikebinkley is offline Junior Member

A Craft Beer Lover's Primal Journal

Primal Fuel
    I've been eating somewhat Primal for the past two weeks (and lost two lbs), but decided I need more accountability so I decided to stop haunting the forums and actually participate.

I am at the high end of a "healthy weight" (5'7, 152 lbs, female) but have lotsa flab. I also am trying to balance a love of brewing/drinking beer and being healthy. There is a history of alcoholism and obesity in my family that I am trying to be very conscious of.

I used to run quite religiously (even running some half-marathons), but never really lost a lot of weight (went from 145 to 142). However, I experienced a lot of sinus infections while training for the races. Even worse, an injury last August set me back and I compensated by decreasing activity levels and increasing craft beer/pizza consumption. Somehow, that plan didn't work.

I am a teacher and off for the summer. I have been trying to devote the summer to getting back on a healthy track. Beer has been the main deterrent, especially because it is a great time for me to brew. I have signed up for the "no drinking on weekdays" thread and today is my first test. In the past year, there has been a total of 4 days that I have not had something to drink. My poor liver...

I will be vacationing in Mexico this winter on a cruise and am determined to vacation without feeling self-conscious about my body. Additionally, I would love to sport a 'kini.

Started off today with two smoked salmon wraps for breakfast-romaine lettuce with cream cheese, capers, onions, avocado, smoked salmon and tomato. Was delicious. Since I ate late, I will probably skip lunch for some trail mix and a peach. Will be joining some work peeps at a Mediterranean restaurant for dinner. Will be interesting to see if I can resist the pita bread.

Goals:
    -Get back into running
    -Cut down on drinking