Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Olive oil advice page

nicholasalanbrown is offline Junior Member

Olive oil advice

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hello all:

I'm a complete novice when it comes to olive oil. I know it's good for me, I really like it, and I eat it frequently, but I'm getting to the end of my $5.99 Trader Joes bottle and thinking I could probably do better. Most of the advice I've found on the web is either not specific or seems to suggest I stood pay $40 and upwards for a bottle. Does anyone have any good recommendations? Is the Trader Joes stuff I'm buying decent? Any help in civilizing Mr would be greatly appreciated.

EatMoveSleep is offline Senior Member
    A little 'Extra virgin olive oil' for salads etc with Apple cider vinegar.

Butter, ghee, coconut (saturated fats) for cooking.

not on the rug is online now Senior Member
    I really enjoy the California olive ranch olive oils. reasonably priced, and since they are US produced, you know they aren't adulterated with whatever garbage oil those sneaky Europeans hide in the stuff they export.
    I have a lot of hard miles on my body from before I realized I'm not 100% invulnerable. Now I just think I'm 75% invulnerable. -Mr. Anthony

Give me a spouse/life-partner who I don't want to punch in the throat when she talks. -Canio6

EatMoveSleep is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by not on the rug View Post
    and since they are US produced, you know they aren't adulterated with whatever garbage oil those sneaky Europeans hide in the stuff they export.
    Does US produced foods = no garbage ?

Quote Originally Posted by EatMoveSleep View Post
    Does US produced foods = no garbage ?
    not necessarily. but a lot of olive oil that is imported to the US is adulterated with other vegetable/seed/soybean oils and is not labeled in any way. at least the olive oils produced in the US have to be labeled as to what they contain