Thread: Hiya from the Balkans :) page

Trip is offline Junior Member

Hiya from the Balkans :)

Shop Now
    So I'm Emanuil (em-ah-nooh-ill) and I'm from Bulgaria, I'm 27, moderately skinny fat and pretty much a mess in the motivation and willpower department If there ever was a poster-boy for all the "confused, aimless man-boy" symptoms, it's me.

I work as a translator of fiction from and to English (also the occasional horrific institutional EU paper). It's a respectable job as far as impressing acquaintances goes (pays next to nothing though), but I'm having severe problems of motivating myself for it (through no fault of the job), I feel guilty almost all the time, and I often feel more than a little inadequate in my relationship, with my girlfriend always waiting for me to grow up a bit (she's older than me), only to be mildly-to-moderately disappointed with my efforts.

I'm trying to change the way I eat and my activity levels - translating is a black hole of sedentary life, - in the hopes of improving the other aspects of my life.

Now, I'm not exactly in despair of my body, but I think it has way more potential than that. I'm small, around 5'7 and about 148 pounds at present, so not much weight to lose; I mostly want the flabbiness gone. If that means going down to about 135-140, I'm still okay with it, it's what I weighed in school and at the start of university, and I was in very measurably better shape - did soccer and the 100m dash, was pretty good at both, now I can't catch the bus or play for more than 5 minutes without having to dig myself a hole in the pitch, then lay down and die in it.

As to mood and energy levels, ability to concentrate, all that stuff - this is where I want to see it happening mostly, since it's a horrific problem for me right now. I might have gone on reading Mark's articles and psyching myself, but I think that participating in the community will help me even more.