Hey all, it's Mrs. Baeb.

I'm starting a journal here to document my efforts at weight loss and overall health for accountability, guidance and wisdom - just not CW! I don't think my story is unusual, but I hope to have a success story here some day.

I'm 25 years old, married, and I work as a social worker. My husband and I plan to try for a family within the next six months, and I want to be healthy for pregnancy and child-raising. At my heaviest I weighed 203 pounds, and I've tried nearly every diet imaginable. I've done about 5 stints on Weight Watchers, but they never really stuck.

Recently my husband got me the book Foodist, by Darya Pino Rose. Normally that would be a dangerous move for any man, but my hubby knows I'm obsessed with reading and "research." Darya recommends a 2 week "recalibration" that is essentially the paleo diet. I did it and my body loved it - I lost 8.5 pounds in those two weeks.

After that I researched the paleo diet, but really felt drawn to Mark's Daily Apple. It seemed a touch more realistic to me. (It should be noted that I am a Christian of the Protestant variety. I don't agree with all the ideas behind this lifestyle, but I'm not here to evangelize or pick a fight. The diet works, and that's good enough for me.) So now I consider myself primal. With the exception of butter (I love it), I consume pretty low amounts of dairy. Some whole milk (raw, if I can get it) in my one mug of coffee per day, and some cheese. What can I say? I'm from Wisconsin.

Since I started the recalibration and switched to primal eating I've lost 11.5 pounds. CW tells me I have 60 more pounds to go to reach my "goal weight" of 130 pounds. Who knows where I'll settle, because I don't plan to use numbers solely to decide when I'm healthy. I'd rather feel comfortable in my own skin and have all systems go, so to speak.