Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chicken Rant page

AnnieW is offline Junior Member

Chicken Rant

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hi friends, I'm sorry if this has already been addressed on here but I wanted to bring it up just so others will know. I'm new to primal/paleo eating and I'm paying closer attention to food labels.

A few weeks ago I purchased some organic chicken from the supermarket. Unfortunately pastured chicken isn't readily available where I live so I had to go with the next best choice, or so I thought. These were bone-in, skin-on breasts. I also purchased legs and froze them. I roasted the breasts in the oven and when I cut them, there was about 1/4 cup liquid that poured out from each breast. I had only seasoned them with salt, pepper, and herbs. They were not marinated. In addition to all the water, the meat had a very spongy texture. I thought spongy was a strange way to describe it, but that's exactly what it was. I noticed the label said "may contain up to 5% retained water." So I figured this is where the water was coming from.

The following week, I returned to the supermarket and talked to the manager of the meat department. I asked him what that meant about the retained water, and he said he didn't know. He said he would check with the sales rep of that organic line and get back to me. He assured me that they weren't pre-injected with any kind of saltwater solution, and I agreed with that since I have seen that note on packages as well.