Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Keto Hair page

aprimalmomma is offline Senior Member

Keto Hair

Shop Now
    I have been doing Primal/Keto for the past 2 months...I feel amazing, excellent energy, sleep, skin, etc...weight is and always has been in normal range....would like to lose the last 5 vanity pounds, but not worrying too much about it...anyway, I've noticed that I'm losing a lot more hair on a daily basis and I am growing concerned. Anyone else notice this? I also noticed that my hair is growing a lot faster (need a haircut every 3-4 weeks instead of usual 8 weeks)...any ideas? Thyroid levels were checked about 4-6 months ago and everything was normal...otherwise I feel amazing but am concerned about my thining hair...

I eat 1-2oz of liverwurst daily and 1 C of bone broth daily. All meat is GF, eggs pastured, veggies organic, etc. I get 8 hours of excellent sleep, low stress, walk 1-1.5 hours daily...calories 1200-1400/day 70-85% fat, 50-60g protein, <20 carbs...love the way I feel so don't want to not be ketogenic...any thoughts?

42 yo female

Graycat is offline Senior Member
    Sorry to hear. Some people have no hair shedding problems on keto, but many do. This is most likely due to not getting sufficient sugar in your diet, which is essential for thyroid health. Personally, I struggled with this same problem for a long time and even now over a year later my hair has not yet recovered 100%.
    I would suggest eating more fruit for starters.

Also, my thyroid tests also came back "normal", whatever that is supposed to mean. My understanding is that doctors do not test the thyroid in enough detail and misdiagnosing or under-diagnosing is a very common occurrence.

Waterlily is offline Senior Member
    42 is too young to have thinning hair.
    If it was me, I would add a little bit of carbs up until my hair would stop falling out.

Derpamix is offline Senior Member