Thread: How to focus the effort and sustain the results? page

OldFarmer is offline Junior Member

How to focus the effort and sustain the results?

Shop Now
    Hi all. Been lurking about 2 years.

Almost-40 female. Have struggled with my weight my whole life, getting up to about 250 lbs. at the birth of my second child. I'm 5'3". Lost over 100 lbs. over 2 years by changing my diet and adding a lot of exercise. The first 40 came off easier, the rest has been a slog that I have been doing over and over for the past 7-8 years. Over those years, I have finished 3 marathons, and spent 5 years running a small farm while working full time and taking care of 2 young children while my husband traveled extensively. Needless to say, I was busy, but I prioritized my wellness, so I got the exercise and I ate a lot of good food. Also a lot of food I didn't need to be eating.

Life is change, and so I moved off the farm. Now I divide my time between the Middle East and the Upper Midwest. Change was tumultuous. I packed on 30 pounds while leaving farm, family and friends.

After trying for a year to take it off, I did a Whole 30 and lost about 18 pounds. Was basically walking and doing some of the basic moves Mark describes--pushups, squats, planks. I cooked grilled meat with salad for dinner, and added a starch for the rest of the family. I got my movement in while kids were at school, really enjoyed my food, and got 8-9 hours of sleep every night. After a few months of this, I had dropped the 30 pounds. Still about 10 pounds overweight, but that's not the worst place to be.