Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Weight loss and muscle recovery page

neilyus is offline Junior Member

Weight loss and muscle recovery

Shop Now
    Hi, newbie here.

I started eating Paleo almost a year ago, but I was only partially doing it, eating rolls and sausage now and then, having crisps every now and then. Recently I have really focused and so far been doing well, I've even cut out dairy.

I'm 26, 5'10" male. A month or so ago I was 11st, I'm now 9st 12oz. I train 4-6 times a week, mostly swimming with 1 day of body weight circuits / movement training, and 1 day of hiking. However, I have noticed I'm taking a lot longer to recover from exercise than I used to. My muscle fatigue in my shoulders doesn't seem to disappear. I eat a portion of prawns or chicken after a workout. I eat big meals and drinking water.

I am worried about my weight loss, especially since I wasn't that heavy to begin with. I am also really frustrated at my lack of progress in the pool due to fatigue.

Has anyone got any help / pointers? My thoughts are, I should start drinking milk again...but what are the thoughts on this with Paleo?

Cheers.

jakejoh10 is offline Senior Member
    How many carbs are you eating per day? Lack of muscle glycogen due to prolonged carbohydrate restriction could be what is causing the fatigue.
    My nutrition/fitness/critical thinking blog:

MaceyUK is offline Senior Member
    I hope this thread doesn't go carb v Keto but yes you may be struggling to adapt to the limited supply of glucose but you may also be lacking in salt due to ditching processed crap and excreting more due to fat metabolism. Eat more fat and supplement salts with Bouillon or eat some friendly carbs, potatoes, sweet potatoes, rice noodles (yum). Or do a bit of both until you are feeling like a horny superman who has just dropped some cocaine. Point is your metabolism is adaptable and unique, learn how it works by experiment and learn how to be its boss.