Thread: Best Compound Exercises with Low Back Injury? page

LerxstFan is offline Junior Member

Best Compound Exercises with Low Back Injury?

Primal Fuel
    The sciatica I have been dealing with for months has finally started to subside. I injured my lower back about five years ago which resulted in a bulging disc which I then reinjured late last year just before I started PB.

After lots of Alleve, PT, and losing weight, I'm nearly 100% pain free in my lower back/right leg. I joke that one of the reasons that I lost weight is because I haven't sat down for six months - it has honestly been much easier to stand and move around.

I started lifting weights again and want to incorporate some compound movements like squats and overhead presses, but don't want to injure my back again. I was going to start with the Smith machines at my gym and go light, but would be grateful for any suggestions on exercises to help strengthen my back/core and still be safe.

Thanks all
    "These amps go to 11..." Nigel Tufnel, Spinal Tap

SW: 225
    CW: 177
    GW: 170
    M/43/6'

Neckhammer is offline Senior Member
    Deadlift would be a better starting point. If you can get your deadlift up to a respectable level without pain then I would think about adding in the squat if thats your real goal.

Otherwise this is a good program http://www.amazon.com/Foundation-Red.../dp/1609611004.

Info here: http://foundationtraining.com/
    Last edited by Neckhammer; 06-28-2013 at 01:25 PM.

RichMahogany is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by LerxstFan View Post
    I was going to start with the Smith machines at my gym and go light
    I'd vote against that for sure. Like Neckhammer said, deadlifts. Start light, tons of reps.

jakey is offline Senior Member